Pursuant to the Act (defined below), the Department is responsible for licensing and regulatory oversight of cultivators and cooperative cultivations and oversight of medical marijuana plant tagging requirements. Effective January 1, 2017, the Department will also license and regulate Rhode Island’s compassion centers.
- Norman Birenbaum, Principal Policy & Economic Analyst
Please Click Here To Order Medical Marijuana Plant Tags
call (800) 432-7992 or email firstname.lastname@example.org
The final rules and regulations posted above reflect changes made by the Department as a result of public comment that was received from November 7, 2016 through December 7, 2016 in accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act. The Concise Explanatory Statement posted above summarizes the public comment received by the Department and what, if any, action was taken by the Department. The final rules and regulations were filed with the Rhode Island Secretary Of State on December 12, 2016 and will take effect as of January 1, 2017. Upon taking effect, these final rules and regulations shall supersede the emergency regulations promulgated by the Department on October 25, 2016.
Please note that the application period for cultivatons is currently CLOSED; for more information see MMP Bulletin 2017-1.
All medical marijuana patients and caregivers currently operating residential and non-residential cooperative cultivations, as defined in the Final Rules and Regulations, must submit an application to the Department by January 1st, 2017 or they will be out of compliance with the the Edward O. Hawkins and Thomas C. Slater Medical Marijuana Act, RI Gen. Laws § 21-28.6-1 et seq., as amended by Article 14 of the budget, RI Public Laws 2016, ch. 142, Article 14 (the “Act”). Medical marijuana patients and caregivers operating a residential or non-residential cooperative cultivation who have submitted an application for a Cultivator License or who have had their Cultivator License application approved must still submit an application for a cooperative cultivation license before January 1, 2017 unless their final Cultivator License has already been issued.
The Edward O. Hawkins and Thomas C. Slater Medical Marijuana Act, RI Gen. Laws § 21-28.6-1 et seq., as amended by Article 14 of the budget, RI Public Laws 2016, ch. 142, Article 14 (the “Act”) requires all medical marijuana patients and caregivers who elect to grow medical marijuana to purchase a medical marijuana plant tag for each plant that they grow. Patients and caregivers have until April, 1st 2017 to have all their plants tagged in accordance with the Act. Tags are sold in sets which contain one mature plant tag and one immature plant tag. Tag fees are $25.00 per tag set. Under the Act, any patient or caregiver who receives a reduced program registration fee under Department of Health Regulations are not required to pay the $25.00 tag fee. Please consult the Medical Marijuana Plant Tag section of the Medical Marijuana Program – Final Rules and Regulations for the full list of rules and regulations for tag use.
If you need order or website assistance please email Support@rimmptags.com or call (800) 432-7992.
If you need administrative assistance please email DBR.MMPCompliance@dbr.ri.gov or call (401) 462-9630.
Three compassion centers are licensed in Rhode Island:
|Thomas C. Slater Compassion Center||1 Corliss Street, Providence, RI 02904||401-274-1000|
|Greenleaf Compassionate Care Center||1637 West Main Road, Portsmouth, RI 02871||401-293-5987|
|Summit Medical Compassion Center||Unit E2, 380 Jefferson Boulevard, Warwick, RI 02886||401-889-3990|