
 

 

 

State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 

DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION 

1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 68-2 

Cranston, Rhode Island  02920 

 

 

DATE:  10/21/2016 

 

TO:  All RI Registered Debt Collectors 

 

FROM: Rhode Island Division of Banking 

 

RE:  NMLS 2017 Renewal Process Is Currently Open– Rhode Island   
 

Purpose: The purpose of this email is to provide your company with important information 

concerning the NMLS Streamlined Renewal Process.   

 

All registered Rhode Island Debt Collector companies and branch registrations must renew 

their registrations through the NMLS between November 1, and December 31, 2016.  

This action must be done by ALL Rhode Island Registered Debt Collectors annually. The 

NMLS Streamlined Renewal Process allows your company to conveniently manage the 

renewal of company and branch registrations, through your organization’s NMLS account. 

 

Actions Required for All Registered Debt Collectors:  Ensure that your company and 

branch records are up to date at time of renewal.  Amendments to license information 

CANNOT be made through the renewal feature.  If you need to make changes to a company 

or branch record, this must be done prior to submitting a renewal request through the Filing 

tab.  It is strongly recommend that you submit updates immediately to allow sufficient time 

for review.  Additionally, you should review license statuses and address any outstanding 

license items. 

 

NOTE: Waiting until November or December to submit amendments and/or clear 

outstanding license items will delay approval of your renewal request. 

 

Only registrations in an “Approved” status may be requested for renewal.  If one or 

more of a company’s registrations is not in an “Approved” status, it may not be eligible for 

renewal in 2016. 

 

 

IMPORTANT: As you are aware, statutory changes to R.I. Gen. Law 19-14.9-12, entitled 

Registration Required, has changed the registration period from three (3) years to one (1) 

year, and has decreased the registration fee from two hundred ($200) dollars to one hundred 

($100) dollars, effective January 1, 2015.  The registrations of Debt Collectors who 

obtained their Rhode Island registration in 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 

2016 will expire on December 31, 2016.  Therefore debt collectors who have a Rhode 

Island registration number sequence of 2008xxxxDC, 2009xxxxDC, 2010xxxxDC, 



 

2011xxxxDC, 2012xxxxDC, 2013xxxxDC, 2015xxxxDC or 2016xxxxDC will be invoiced 

by the Division for the 2017 renewal period.  The Division will use the Agency Invoicing 

functionality on the NMLS to bill those applicable registrations.     

. 
 
 

 
Easy Steps for Renewal: 

To complete a renewal request: 
 
- Continue to meet all licensing requirements of the Rhode Island General 

Laws.  
- If your company continues to meet these requirements: 

o Attest to that fact and submit a renewal request through NMLS  
o Pay the required statutory license renewal fees and NMLS 

transaction fees (see fee information below). 
 

The NMLS Resource Center has valuable tools to assist in the NMLS 2017 
Streamlined Renewal Process, including a Company Renewal Quick Guide, 
Training Workshops, State Licensing Information, as well as the 2017 
Renewal Checklists.  
 
Click the Annual Renewal link on the home page of the NMLS Resource 
Center. If you have any questions about renewing your Rhode Island Debt 
Collector Registration(s) through NMLS between November 1, 2016, and 
December 31, 2016, please contact the Banking Division at 401-462-9503 or 
by email at: dbr.bankinquiry@dbr.ri.gov. 

 

 

Additional Information Regarding Renewal Requirements 

Fees 

In addition to the one hundred ($100) dollar per registered location annual license renewal 

fee and fifty ($50) dollar training and technology fee assessed to the registered entity for 

registrations obtained in 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2016, NMLS charges 

processing fees of $100 per company registration, $20 per branch registration. These 

processing fees must be paid electronically through NMLS upon submission of the license 

renewal request. Processing fees cover NMLS’ operations to include system access, financial 

statement functionality, access to reports, ability to maintain and renew licenses, as well as call 

center support.  

 

Attestation – Company and Individual 

Companies may log in to NMLS and complete the attestation process and request renewal 

starting November 1st. Attestation is a company’s legal certification that: (i) company and 

branch NMLS records are up to date, (ii) renewal requirements have been satisfied, and (iii) 

the company meets all license renewal eligibility requirements.  

 

Companies are required to complete an attestation pertaining to company and branch renewal 

requests selected for submission each time the Company Renewals Cart is submitted.  

http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/Pages/default.aspx
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/licensees/resources/LicenseeResources/Company-Renewal-Quick-Guide.pdf
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/news/events/Pages/default.aspx
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/SLR/Pages/default.aspx
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/slr/common/renewals/NMLS%20Document%20Library/2015%20Renewal%20Checklists.pdf
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/slr/common/renewals/NMLS%20Document%20Library/2015%20Renewal%20Checklists.pdf
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/Pages/default.aspx
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/Pages/default.aspx


 

 

NOTE: Control Persons (Form MU2) do not need to attest to their record as part of a 

company’s renewal submission.  

 

Renewal Submissions Deadlines 

Renewal requests may be submitted starting November 1st and should be submitted no later   than 

December 31, 2016.  If you have registrations you do not intend to renew, you must notify the 

regulator by selecting the “do not renew” option. NMLS WILL NOT ACCEPT RENEWAL 

SUBMISSIONS AFTER MIDNIGHT (12:00AM) ET on December 31, 2016. Please note the 

time zone difference of your location.  

 

Training 

 

Renewal workshops will be conducted by the State Regulatory Registry, LLC to review the 

NMLS 2017 Streamlined Renewal Process. The optional workshops will provide licensees and 

applicants with tips on how to use the NMLS during the 2016 Streamlined Renewal period. 

Please note, there is a fee for these workshops. To register for one of the workshops, see the 

State-Licensed Training Workshops page on the NMLS Resource Center.  

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/news/events/Pages/default.aspx
http://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org/Pages/default.aspx

