
March 5, 2008 
 
 
RE: Annual Reports 

Lenders, Loan Brokers  

All companies and individuals holding a Lender and/or Loan Broker License must transition 
all of their existing license information onto the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System 
(“NMLS”). This involves creating an account for your company on NMLS, completing a 
company record (Form MU1), a record for each Control Person, such as an executive officer, 
qualified individual, and branch manager (Form MU2), and a record for each licensed branch 
office (Form MU3). The transition will include the Annual Report that is due annually on or 
before March 31st. 

Licensees in Rhode Island have until March 31, 2008 to complete all relevant forms through 
NMLS and submit them to the Department for acceptance. If your company does not currently 
have a record in the NMLS getting started is easy. Go to the Getting Started page of the NMLS 
website and follow the steps outlined. 

 

Be sure to review Rhode Island’s Jurisdiction-Specific Requirements along with the Suggested 
Workflows and Quick Guides, both found on the NMLS website. 

The completion of your record in NMLS will be required for your company to renew your Rhode 
Island Lender and/or Loan Broker License in 2008. FAILURE TO CREATE A FULL 
RECORD IN THE NMLS BY MARCH 31, 2008 WILL DELAY YOUR COMPANY'S 
RENEWAL AND MAY RESULT IN THE NON-RENEWAL OF YOUR LICENSE(S) 
AND THE POSSIBLE REVOCATION OF THE LICENSE(S). 

Any licensee who fails to complete a record in the NMLS and submit the Transition Rhode 
Island’s Jurisdiction-Specific Requirements by March 31, 2008 will be subjected to late filing 
penalties of $25 dollars per day (with no maximum amount) for each license plus additional 
penalties of $25 per day (subject to a maximum of $750) for each license or branch 
certificate for failure to pay the annual license fee. 
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Reports containing blank items are not considered complete.  If items requiring a text response 
do not apply, enter "Not Applicable" or “NA” in the appropriate section.  If items requiring a 
numerical response do not apply, enter “0” in the appropriate section.  The information contained 
in the Report is, unless otherwise noted, available to the public pursuant to The Rhode Island 
Access to Public Records Act (R. I. Gen. Laws § 38-2-1 et seq.). 
 
Any person who fails to cease business when the required annual license fee is not paid may be 
subject to the penalties provided by Title 19 of the Rhode Island General Laws.  R. I. Gen. Laws 
§ 19-14-16 requires any licensee terminating business to notify the Division of such termination 
in writing within twenty-four (24) hours from the termination of business1 at the licensed 
location. 
 
Any licensee not maintaining its license beyond March 31, 2008, shall on or before March 31, 
2007 cease all activity governed by the license and file with the Division written notice of its 
intent to surrender the license.  If the licensee has not transitioned into the NMLS written notice 
of the surrender shall be sent by United States Mail, facsimile or email must be filed on or before 
March 31, 2008.   If the licensee has transitioned into the NMLS, written notice of the surrender 
shall be through the NMLS.  In either case, the licensee shall on or before April 30, 2008 submit 
a completed Final Annual Report in lieu of the Report along with the applicable filing fee in 
order to avoid late filing penalties of twenty-five dollars ($25) per day per license.  Any licensee 
who terminates the licensed activity and fails to submit a Final Annual Report will be subject to 
an administrative action to revoke the license.   The Final Annual Report, may be obtained by 
accessing www.dbr.ri.gov2 
 
Please contact State Chief Bank Examiner Steven L. Cayouette at (401) 222-5429 or 
scayouet@dbr.state.ri.us or Systems Analyst Lucy Ponte at (401) 222-2405  or 
Lucy_Ponte@dbr.state.ri.us if you have any questions related to the submission of this Report.  
The Division prefers to respond to questions in advance so licensees may avoid annual license 
fee and Report filing delays and the penalties associated with the submission of an incomplete or 
inadequate Report.  
 
Very truly yours, 

 
Dennis F. Ziroli 
Associate Director &  
Superintendent of Banking 
 

                                                 
1 For purposes of R. I. Gen. Laws § 19-14-16 a licensee terminates business when it no longer engages in activity 
governed by the Rhode Island license, whether or not the licensee terminates all other business.    
2 Go to Banking & Securities Regulation: · Licensees/Mortgage Companies Final Annual Reports 
 


