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MOTOR VEHICLE BODY LICENSE
APPLICATION AND INSTRUCTIONS

Applicants are ENCOURAGED to apply online at: https://elicensing.ri.gov/

Complete the application and return with all the following required attachments:

 LICENSE FEE $300 per Year (maximum of 3 years and $900) Check or money order
payable to “Rhode Island General Treasurer.” Additional $300 per year fee is required
for the optional Salvage Repair License. (maximum of 3 years and $900)

 APPLICATION FEE ($300 Non-refundable) If transferring from a Class B

 CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE Policy shall provide for bodily injury and property
damage liability for five hundred thousand ($500,000) combined single limit, and
Garage Keepers Legal Liability for damage to customer property for one hundred
thousand ($100,000) per occurrence.

 EVIDENCE OF FIRE SAFETY APPROVAL Letter from local fire department or state fire
marshal stating shop has been inspected for and is in compliance with all local and state
laws/regulations/codes for fire, health, and safety. Letter must also confirm safety
inspection and approval of spray booth and refinishing area for painting.

 EVIDENCE OF ZONING APPROVAL Letter from city/town stating you comply with all
zoning laws to operate an auto body shop in that location. (Not for Renewal Applications)

 CRIMINAL HISTORY REPORT(s) for all owners, corporate officers, and managers.

 TECHNICIAN CERTIFICATION proof of classes per compliance with Regulation 16

 (For CORPORATIONS AND LLCs ONLY) EVIDENCE OF GOOD STANDING
Applicants may submit either a Letter of Good Standing from the RI Secretary of State
OR a printout from your company’s main page on the Secretary of State’s website
evidencing that your corporation still exists and is not revoked by the Secretary of State.

Notice to all applicants:

Your license number must appear on all business communications, estimates, signs, business
cards and other written documentation related to that business.

Immediately notify the Department upon any change of information from your latest application.
Transfers of owner or business location require a new application and must be approved in
advance by the Department.

Inquire with your local city/town to verify if a local license is required in order for you to operate.

State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION

1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1
Cranston, Rhode Island 02920

Division of Commercial Licensing and
Racing and Athletics
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APPLICATION FOR MOTOR VEHICLE BODY CLASS A LICENSE

IS THIS YOUR FIRST AUTO BODY LICENSE? YES _____ NO _____ IF NO, License Number: _________

If No, List name and address of former business if different from the business you are now licensing:

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

DO YOU CURRENTLY HAVE A SALVAGE VEHICLE REPAIRER LICENSE? YES_____ NO_____

DO YOU WANT A SALVAGE VEHICLE REPAIRER LICENSE? YES_____ NO_____
If Yes, Please Note: $300 additional fee per year required. Maximum three years and $900

Is business a: Sole Proprietor _____ Partnership _____ Corporation _____ LLC _____ Other: ________

OWNER'S NAME:__________________________________________________________ D.O.B:___________________
HOME

OWNER'S HOME ADDRESS:________________________________________________ PHONE#________________

________________________________________________ Social Security #____________
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

BUSINESS NAME:_________________________________________________________ FEIN: _______________

Include DBA if Applicable: ______________________________________________________

BUSINESS STREET ADDRESS: ________________________________________________________________________

BUSINESS CITY/STATE/ZIP CODE:_____________________________________________________________________

BUSINESS PHONE: ____________________ FAX: _________________________

E-MAIL ADDRESS: ______________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Name, Address, Phone Number, and Date of Birth for all partners, members, and officers –
including their titles. (Attach separate sheet if necessary)

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION

1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1
Cranston, Rhode Island 02920

Division of Commercial Licensing and
Racing and Athletics

TYPE OF APPLICATION: _____ NEW _______ RENEWAL _______ TRANSFER
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DO YOU CURRENTLY HOLD A LICENSE FOR?

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER: YES_______ NO_______ IF YES, LICENSE # ___________

APPRAISER/ADJUSTER: YES_______ NO_______ IF YES, LICENSE # ___________
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

EPA HAZARDOUS WASTE GENERATORS PERMIT # _______________________________________
Note: EPA# are issued by DEM, App. available here: http://www.dem.ri.gov/programs/benviron/waste/pdf/epaidno.pdf
______________________________________________________________________________________________________

SPACE REQUIREMENT: INDICATE SQUARE FOOTAGE OF SHOP: _________________
Note: licensees must perform repairs inside at a fixed location with at least 4000 square feet of heated ground level floor space.
______________________________________________________________________________________________________

DESCRIBE SECURED STORAGE AREA FOR DAMAGED VEHICLES:

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

LIST NAME AND POSITION OF ALL EMPLOYEES:
Per CL Reg. 4, Technician means anyone employed “who performs repairs of frame, structural systems, mechanical systems or
the safety related systems of a Motor Vehicle.” Shop Employees means anyone else employed by the Shop, including owners,
partners and all other individuals working at the business, whether PAID OR UNPAID. (Use separate sheet, if necessary)

NAME POSITION (Circle One)

___________________________________________ Technician Shop Employee

___________________________________________ Technician Shop Employee

___________________________________________ Technician Shop Employee

___________________________________________ Technician Shop Employee

___________________________________________ Technician Shop Employee

___________________________________________ Technician Shop Employee

____________________________________________ Technician Shop Employee

*ATTACH PROOF OF ALL CLASSES FOR EACH CERTIFIED TECHNICIAN. Note that CL Reg. 16 now has 7
areas of training and for an A License, EACH Technician must be certified in EACH area.
______________________________________________________________________________________________________

CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD SUBMISSION REQUIREMENT

Submit with the application a Criminal History Record (“CHR”) from the State of Rhode Island for all
owners, corporate officers, and managers. If you reside in another state, supply a CHR from your home
state, as well as one from Rhode Island.

A Rhode Island CHR may be obtained by contacting the Bureau of Criminal Identification at the Rhode
Island Department of Attorney General (“DAG”). You may contact the DAG in person by visiting 150 South
Main Street, Providence, Rhode Island. To apply for a CHR in this manner, one must bring picture
identification with the date of birth listed. Hours of operation are 8:30 A.M. to 4:30 P.M. Monday through
Friday. Fee: $5.00 (check or money order only).

To apply for a Rhode Island CHR by mail, you must mail to the DAG: a notarized copy of a photo ID that
has a date of birth listed, a signed and notarized letter giving permission to the DAG to conduct a
background investigation, along with a self-addressed stamped envelope, and the $5.00 fee. If you have
any questions about the CHR process please contact the DAG at (401) 274-4400
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CLASS A LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

Per Commercial Licensing Regulation 4 -Every Licensee must maintain equipment, apparatus, and tools,
as described in Section 4(B)1(i&ii).

Write “Yes” or “No” AND Include model name and number below:

_____ Certification for the Repair and Refinishing of Aluminum, high strength steel, and other metal or alloy, by at
least one Automobile Manufacturer. (Proof of certification must also come directly from the Automobile
Manufacturer or its designated third party administrator).

Name of Certifying Manufacturer/TPA? ________________________

_____ A written lifetime warranty on repairs that is valid against workmanship defects? (Attach copy)

_____ A system for documenting customer complaints? (Provide evidence of such a system or contracted service)

_____ Electrical and /or hydraulic pulling equipment? ______________________________________

_____ Current dimensional guides appropriate to vehicle being repaired? Online or Paper? __________________

_____ Four (4) point clamping system to secure vehicle while making structural repairs? _________________

_____ Equipment/gauges mechanical or electronic capable of three dimensional measurements? _____________

_____ Appropriate welding equipment to meet manufacturer’s requirements? ____________________

_____ A paint system or access to a paint system capable of producing original equipment manufacturer’s
requirements?

_____ A Spray Booth that conforms to the requirements of the RI State Fire Marshall?
Make and Model of Paint Booth: __________________________

_____ A refinishing area that complies with safety and environmental regulations?

_____ Parking in compliance with local laws and regulations to perform the repair work?

=============================================================================================================

Have you, an Employee, Manager, Partner, Member, Officer, or Stockholder ever been convicted of, or
ever been a party in any proceedings (civil, criminal or otherwise), in any criminal felony involving
dishonesty, breach of trust, embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses, bribery, larceny,
extortion, conspiracy to defraud, fraud, false dealing or any similar offense in Rhode Island or any other
state? (Note, a criminal background check is also required for managers and owners, see below).
IF YES, EXPLAIN: (use separate sheet, if necessary) YES_______ NO_______

Have you previously reported this to the Department? NO____ YES ____ DATE: _________
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Have you, an Employee, Manager, Partner, Member, Officer, or Stockholder ever been involved in any
motor vehicle repair business which had an application for a license denied or had a license suspended,
revoked or had disciplinary action taken against a license held in Rhode Island or any other state?
IF YES, EXPLAIN: (Use separate sheet, if necessary) YES _______ NO_______

_____________________________________________________________________________________
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Designee Name, Address, and Email where the Department may send notices:

Name of designee: ___________________________________________

Full Mailing Address:________________________________________________________________________________

Designees Email address: __________________________________________
==========================================================================
TAX PAYER AFFIDAVIT:

 I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required Rhode Island state
tax returns and have paid all taxes owed. If Not, please explain (use separate sheet, if
necessary):

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
PLEASE TAKE NOTE OF R.I. GEN. LAW § 5-38-11 WHICH READS:

RESPONSIBILITY OF LICENSEE FOR ACTS OF AGENTS "if a licensee is a firm or corporation
it shall be sufficient cause for suspension or revocation of a license if any officer, director, or trustee of
the firm or corporation or any member of a partnership, shall have been found by the department guilty of
any act or omission which would be cause for refusing, suspending or revoking a license to such party.
Each licensee shall be responsible for the acts of any salesman or any drive-away tow-away operator
acting as the agent for that licensee, and for the acts of any salesperson, estimator or other employee
acting as the agent for that licensee.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Do you certify, under the pains and penalties of perjury, that all information you have provided in
this application including all other licensing requirement documents are true and accurate? You
are advised that furnishing false information or omitting pertinent or material information in
connection with this application is grounds for license revocation or denial of the license and may
subject you to civil or criminal penalties. You are further advised that the Department reserves
the right to independently verify, at any time, all information contained in this application and any
supporting documentation. Application must be signed by owner, or authorized signatory if
owner is a corporation, or if business is a partnership – all partners must sign. You further certify
that you are the principal owner, manager or authorized signatory and have sufficient authority to
execute this application.

X __________________________________________________________ DATE: _________
SIGNATURE OF OWNER OR AUTHORIZED SIGNATORY

If signed by Authorized Signatory, explain:_______________________________________

X __________________________________________________________ DATE: __________
SIGNATURE OF ADDITIONAL PARTNER (IF PARTNERSHIP)
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Regulation 16 Technician Certification-- Approved Class List

Approved minimum requirements for the certification of motor vehicle body repair technicians:
EVERY Technicians MUST take one class per section. And ALL certifications must be maintained
and current throughout the term of the license.

Section I Identification and Analysis of Damage to Vehicles:
I-Car: DAM01, DAM01E, DAM08, DAM08E, DAM12, DAM12E, BLU01, FCR01
ASE: Test B6

P & L Consultants: Collision Damage Repair & Estimating

Section II Frame Measuring and Straightening Systems and Techniques:
I-Car: MEA01
ASE: Test B4

P & L Consultants: Structural Measuring and Realignment

Section III Welding in Collision Repair:
I-Car: SPS05, WCS03, WCS04, WCS06E, WCA03
ASE: Test B3

P & L Consultants: Collision Repair: Welding and Joining Methods
Lombard Equipment: Pro Spot Resistance Spot Welding & Mig Steel Welding Course

Section IV Structural Steel Repairs:
I-Car: SPS07, SPS09, SPS10, SPS11, SSS01, AHS01
ASE: Test B4

P & L Consultants: Structural Measuring and Realignment

Section V Suspension, Steering, and Alignment Systems:
I-Car: STE02, STE03, DAM06, DAM15
ASE: Test B5

P & L Consultants: Steering and Suspension Systems

Section VI Safety Restraint Systems:
I-Car: DAM11, DAM11E, RES01, RES02
ASE: Test B5

P & L Consultants: Supplementary Restraint Systems

Section VII Corrosion Protection:
I-Car: CPS01
ASE: Test B2

SEM: Automotive Corrosion Protection
3M: Seam Sealers and Corrosion Protection

P & L Consultants: Damage Assessor aka Estimator Structural Repair Technician (Steel &
Aluminum) Non-Structural Cosmetic Repair Technician Refinish
Technician

Any other classes, courses, or training taken from any school, OEM, or Equipment manufacturer should be submitted for approval.
Class list was updated 10/28/15. When signing up for classes make sure to consult the most current list from the Department.



Tel: (401) 462-9506 Fax: (401) 462-9645 TTY: 711 www.dbr.ri.gov REV 4/13/16

Attention Automobile Manufacturers and/or its Third Party Administrator:
Re: CLASS A MOTOR VEHICLE BODY REPAIR SHOP LICENSE

Per Section 4 B (1) i of Commercial Licensing Regulation 4: Motor Vehicle Body and Salvage Vehicle
Repair -

All Rhode Island Motor Vehicle Body Repair Shops who are applying to be a Class A shop must submit
proof that they are certified for the repair and refinishing of aluminum, high strength steel, and other
metal or alloy, by at least one Automobile Manufacturer. Such Proof of certification will be accepted by
the Department provided it is directly from the Automobile Manufacturer or its designated third party
administrator.

Please forward to the Department correspondence by electronic mail attesting to the fact that:

1) You are the automobile manufacturer or its third party administrator

2) Your client is certified for the repair and refinishing of aluminum, high strength steel, and other
metal or alloy, by at least one Automobile Manufacturer per Section 4 B (1) i of Commercial
Licensing Regulation 4

3) The effective dates of the certification

4) A copy of the letter sent to the shop stating they are certified

It is the responsibility of the shop to inform the automobile manufacturer or its third party administrator to
have proof of all future certification and/or renewal certification sent to this Department prior to the
expiration of the latest certification on file in order to keep their Class A status.

If you should have any questions please contact either of the undersigned.

Kim Precious
Implementation Aide
(401) 462-9650
Kimberly.precious@dbr.ri.gov

John Mancone
Chief Public Protection Inspector
(401) 462-9646
John.mancone@dbr.ri.gov

State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION

1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1
Cranston, Rhode Island 02920

Division of Commercial Licensing and
Racing and Athletics


