
Tel: 401-462-9506 Fax: 401-462-9645 TTY: 711 Web Site: www.dbr.ri.gov Page 1 of 4 Revised 1/28/16

State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION

1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1
Cranston, Rhode Island 02920

Division of Commercial Licensing and
Racing and Athletics

MOTOR VEHICLE GLASS REPAIR LICENSE
APPLICATION AND INSTRUCTIONS

Applicants are ENCOURAGED to apply online at: https://elicensing.ri.gov/

NOTE: Rhode Island Public Law 2015-146, The “Motor Vehicle Glass Consumer Protection Act”
takes effect on January 1, 2016. Any Motor Vehicle Class Repair Shop that submits an application for
a new or renewal application received BEFORE that date will be “grandfathered” under the new laws
for 12 months. Applications received after that day may be subject to the new law immediately.

Complete the application and return with the required attachments.

 3-Year LICENSE FEE $900.00. Check or Money Order payable to the Rhode Island General Treasurer.

 CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE. Insurance coverage per Regulation 5 Section 4(D).

 CRIMINAL HISTORY REPORT (CHR). From the Attorney General

 LETTER OF GOOD STANDING. From the Secretary of State (For LLC’s and corporations)

 DRIVE IN SHOP AND COMBINATION SHOP… PLEASE PROVIDE THE FOLLOWING:

o FIRE SAFETY COMPLIANCE LETTER (From Fire Department or Fire Marshal)
o ZONING COMPLIANCE LETTER From (City/Town) (New and Transfers only)
o EPA HAZARDOUS WASTE GENERATORS PERMIT NUMBER OR LETTER FROM THE

RHODE ISLAND DEPARTMENT OF ENVIROMENTAL MANAGEMENT STATING YOU
DO NOT NEED ONE.

Notice to all applicants:

"Motor Vehicle Glass Installation" means the act of replacing, repairing or installing glass on a
Motor Vehicle.

Your license number must appear on all business communications- this includes your business
vehicles, estimates, and signs.

All Renewal Notices from the Department will be sent Via electronic mail. Immediately notify the
Department upon any change of information on your latest application.

Transfers must be approved by the Department prior to an address change or a new owner.

Inquire with your local city/town to verify if a local license is required in order to operate.

EPA HAZARDOUS WASTE GENERATORS PERMIT #: Application can be found on DEM website at:
http://www.dem.ri.gov/programs/benviron/waste/pdf/epaidno.pdf
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Division of Commercial Licensing and
Racing and Athletics

APPLICATION FOR MOTOR VEHICLE GLASS REPAIR LICENSE

TYPE OF SHOP: Mobile Only: ______ Drive In Only: ______ Combination: Mobile/Drive In: ______

BUSINESS NAME: ___________________________________________________________________________

BUSINESS LOCATION: ______________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________

Name and Address where the Department may send notices: Name of designee: ___________________________

Full Mailing Address for Designee: _______________________________________________________________________

Is Business A: Sole Proprietor _____ Partnership _____ Corporation _____ LLC _____ Other:____________

Business F.E.I.N: _________________________ Business Telephone Number: ______________________

Business Fax Number: ______________ Business Email Address: _________________________________________

Owner/Manager’s Name:___________________________________________________ D.O.B: ______________

Home Address: _________________________________________ Social Security # ___________________

_____________________________________________ Home Telephone No.:_________________

Is This Your First Auto Glass License: ___Yes ___ No If No, Name/Address/License Number of former
business:

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

List All Training and Experience you have in the industry:

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Does this Business meet the Minimum Value Standard for Equipment, apparatus, and tools per Commercial
Licensing Regulation 5, Section 4(D) ($5,000)? NO _______ YES ______
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

FOR DRIVE IN AND COMBINATION SHOPS: LIST SQUARE FOOTAGE OF SHOP: ___________

Do You: Own _____ Rent/Lease _____ The building listed above where the shop is located?

If you Rent, how long is the lease for? ___________ (Include a copy of the rental agreement or lease)
If you rent/lease please provide the Name and contact information for the property owner if not on rental/lease
agreement:

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

FOR MOBILE SHOPS: LIST PERMINATE LOCATION ADDRESS WHERE YOU WILL REPAIR/REPLACE GLASS
IN INCLIMATE WEATHER:

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION

1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1
Cranston, Rhode Island 02920
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Page 2 - Motor Vehicle Glass Repair Application

EPA HAZARDOUS WASTE GENERATORS PERMIT NUMBER: ___________________________________

List names and position (glass repair tech) or (non-glass repair tech) of all paid, unpaid employees or agents
working at the business. (Attach separate sheet if necessary)

NAME POSITION (circle one)
_____________________________________________ Glass Repair Tech or Non-Glass Repair Tech

_____________________________________________ Glass Repair Tech or Non-Glass Repair Tech

_____________________________________________ Glass Repair Tech or Non-Glass Repair Tech

_____________________________________________ Glass Repair Tech or Non-Glass Repair Tech

_____________________________________________ Glass Repair Tech or Non-Glass Repair Tech

Name, Address, Phone Number, and Date of Birth, including their titles, for all partners, members, and officers,
and stockholders, or anyone who has a financial interest in the business. (Attach separate sheet if necessary)

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Have you, a partner, member, officer, or stockholder ever been a party in any proceedings (civil, criminal or
otherwise) involving fraud, deceit or misrepresentation or ever plead nolo contendere to a misdemeanor or
felony? If Yes, Please explain: NO________ YES________

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Have you, a partner, member, officer or stockholder ever been involved in any motor vehicle repair business
which had an application for a license denied or had a license suspended, revoked or surrendered in this state or
any other state? If Yes, Please explain: NO________ YES_________

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required Rhode Island state tax returns and
have paid all taxes owed. If Not, Please explain:

=============================================================================================
PLEASE TAKE NOTICE: R. I. GENERAL LAWS § 5-38.5-14 "RESPONSIBILITY OF LICENSEE FOR ACTS OF AGENTS "IF A
LICENSEE IS A FIRM OR CORPORATION IT IS SUFFICIENT CAUSE FOR SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF A LICENSE
THAT ANY OFFICER, DIRECTOR, OR TRUSTEE OF THE FIRM OR CORPORATION OR ANY MEMBER, IN THE CASE OF A
PARTNERSHIP, SHALL HAVE BEEN FOUND BY THE DEPARTMENT GUILTY OF ANY ACT OR OMISSION WHICH WOULD
BE CAUSE FOR REFUSING, SUSPENDING OR REVOKING A LICENSE TO THAT PARTY AS AN INDIVIDUAL. EACH
LICENSEE SHALL BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE ACTS OF ANY SALESPERSONS OR ANY PERSON ACTING AS THE AGENT
FOR THAT LICENSEE, AND FOR THE ACTS OF ANY SALESPERSON, ESTIMATOR, OR OTHER EMPLOYEE ACTING AS
THE AGENT FOR THAT LICENSEE.”

Do you certify, under the pains and penalties of perjury, that all information you have provided in this
application is true and accurate? You are advised that furnishing false information or omitting pertinent or
material information in connection with this application is grounds for license revocation or denial of the
license and may subject you to civil or criminal penalties. You are further advised that the Department
reserves the right to independently verify, at any time, all information contained in this application and any
supporting documentation. You further certify that you are the principal owner, manager or
authorized signatory and have sufficient authority to execute this application.

X__________________________________________________________________ DATE: _______
SIGNATURE (PRINCIPAL OWNER/OR AUTHORIZED SIGNATORY)

If Partnership (signature of Additional partner) X_________________________________________ Date:_______
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CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD SUBMISSION REQUIREMENT

INSTRUCTIONS

Submit with the application a Criminal History Record (“CHR”) from the State of Rhode Island for
all owners and managers. If you reside in another state, supply a CHR from your home state, as
well as one form Rhode Island.

A Rhode Island CHR may be obtained by contacting the Bureau of Criminal Identification at the
Rhode Island Department of Attorney General (“DAG”). One may contact the DAG in person by
visiting 150 South Main Street, Providence, Rhode Island. To apply for a CHR in this manner one
must bring a picture identification with the date of birth listed. Hours of operation are 8:30 A.M. to
4:30 P.M.

To apply for a CHR by mail one must send a notarized copy of a photo ID that has a date of birth
listed, a signed and notarized letter giving permission to the AG to conduct a background
investigation along with a self-addressed stamped envelope.

The cost for a CHR, whether applying in person or by mail, is five dollars ($5.00) and payable by
check or money order to “BCI”. Please allow for time for the DAG to process and generate your
request. For further questions about this process please contact the DAG at (401) 274-4400.


