State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1
Cranston, Rhode lsdand 02920

Division of Commercial Licensing
Real Estate Section

REQUIREMENTS/APPLICATION FOR RECIPROCAL REAL ESTATE BROKER

The following requirements apply to Non-residents who reside in Connecticut or Massachusetts, who

currently have a Real Estate Broker license in either state.

Please submit the following:

e A completed Rea Estate Broker Application;

e A Crimina History Record (CHR) from the Rhode Island Department of the Attorney

Generd’s office, aswell asa CHR from applicant’ s home state law enforcement agency.
e A Tax Payer Status Affidavit / Identity Verification;
e A Cetificate of athree hour course in Lead Poisoning/L ead Hazard Mitigation (See Real
Estate Pre-Licensing and Continuing Education Course List at

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/documents/divisions/commlicensing/real estate/RE-CE Course List.pdf;

e A Certificate of Errors and Omissions Insurance;

o A Cetificate of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing from home state' s licensing authority.

e Anirrevocable Power of Attorney Form for service of process.

Please submit TWO CHECKS asfollows;

e $95.00, payabletothe“Rhodeldand General Treasurer” - For licensesissued on or after
May 1, of odd-numbered years AND, $25.00 payableto the“ Real Estate Recovery
Account.”

OR;

e $180.00, payableto the“Rhodelsland General Treasurer” - For licensesissued on or after
May 1, of even-numbered years AND, $25.00 payable to the “ Real Estate Recovery
Account.”

*All licenses expireon April 30 of even-numbered years. (Thereisno pro-rating of fees).
Non-resident / Reciprocal applicants are exempt from therequired Rhode I sland continuing
education, aslong as they maintain their home state continuing education requirements.
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State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1
Cranston, Rhodeldand 02920

Division of Commercial Licensing
Real Estate Section

CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS

FOR BROKER AND SALESPERSON APPLICANTS

A Criminal History Record (“CHR”) must be submitted to the Real Estate Section of the
Department of Business Regulation (*DBR”), Division of Commercial Licensing with each
Real Estate Application. Processing applications is contingent upon the complete disposition, or
results of any charges delineated or resolved prior to application submission. See instructions
below to learn how to obtain your CHR.

INSTRUCTIONS

Applyingin Person: A Criminal History Record may be obtained by visiting the Bureau of
Criminal Identification at the Rhode Island Department of Attorney General (“DAG”). To apply
for aCHR in this manner, bring a picture-identification, showing your date of birth.

Applying by Mail: To apply by mail, send a notarized copy of a photo 1D, showing your date of
birth, and a signed/notarized letter, giving permission to the DAG to conduct a background
investigation, along with a self-addressed stamped envelope.

The cost for a CHR, whether applying in person or by mail, isfive dollars ($5.00), and is payable
by check or money order to the “BCI”. Please alow time for the DAG to process and generate
your request. For further questions about this process, you may contact the DAG at the phone
number below.

If you residein another state, supply a CHR from your home state, aswell as onefrom
Rhode Island.

Contact Information for the Department of Attorney General:
» 150 South Main Street, Providence, Rhode Island, 02903.
» Telephone Number: (401) 274-4400
» Hours of operation are 8:30 am. to 4:30 p.m.
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State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1
Cranston, Rhode lsdand 02920

Division of Commercial Licensing

Real Estate Section FOR OFFICE USE ONLY
LICENSE NUMBER

RECIPROCAL REAL ESTATE BROKER APPLICATION
Please print or type. All incomplete applications will be returned. Please allow 7-10 days for processing.

1. Name of Applicant: 2. Dateof Birth 3. Age 4. Lega resident
Yes [ No [!

5. Residential Address: City / Town State Zip Code

6. Telephone Number: 7. Email Address: 8. Socia Security Number:

9. Present Occupation:

10. Red Estate Agency Name & Address: Street / City / Town: State: Zip Code:

Telephone Number:

11. Principal Broker’s Name and License Number:

12. Have you ever been refused a Real Estate Broker or Salesperson licensein this state or any other state?

Yes [I No [J
13. Have you ever had a Real Estate Broker or Salesperson license suspended or revoked in this state or any
other state? Yes [1 No [

14. Have you ever been convicted of, or plead guilty or nolo contendre to forgery, embezzlement, obtaining
money under false pretenses, bribery, larceny, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or any other offenses of
any type which would reasonably cause the Department to question your honesty, trustworthiness,
integrity, good reputation or competency? Yes [1 No [I

IF YOU ANSWERED “YES” TO QUESTIONS 12 - 14,
ATTACH A FULL EXPLANATION.
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15. Occupations engaged in during the past five years:

16. R.1.G.L requires recommendations of three (3) Rhode Island residents who have known the applicant for at
least three (3) years and are not related to the applicant and will attest that the applicant bears a good reputation
for honesty and trustworthiness, and will recommend that a Real Estate Broker’s license be granted to the
applicant.

Name: Address;
(Print)
Name: Address:
(Print)
Name: Address;
(Print)
STATEMENT OF APPLICANT

I, the undersigned, swear under penalty of perjury, that the information provided in connection with this
application is true to the best of my knowledge, with the understanding that any omissions, inaccuracies or
failure to make full disclosures may be deemed sufficient reason to deny licensure as a Real Estate Broker by
the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation.

Signature Date
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Tax Payer Status Affidavit / Identity Verification

All persons applying or renewing any license, registration, permit or other authority (hereinafter
called “licensee”) to conduct a business or occupation in the state of Rhode Island are required to
file all applicable tax returns and pay all taxes owed to the state prior to receiving a license as
mandated by state law (RIGL 5-76) except as noted below.

In order to verify that the state is not owed taxes, licensees are required to provide their Social
Security Number and Federal Tax Identification Number as appropriate. These numbers will be
transmitted to the Division of Taxation to verify tax status prior to the issuance of alicense. This
declaration must be made prior to the issuance of alicense.

Licensee Declaration

L] I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that | have filed al required state tax returns and have paid all taxes
owed.

L] I have entered a written installment agreement to pay delinquent taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax
Administrator.

1 1 am currently pursuing administrative review of taxes owed to the state.

[ 1 amin federal bankruptcy. (Case # )

L1 I amin state receivership. (Case # )

I 1 have been discharged from Bankruptcy. (Case # )

Full Name (Please Print or Type) Social Security Number (or FEIN for Business)
Signature Date
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State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-1
Cranston, Rhode lsdand 02920

Division of Commercial Licensing
Real Estate Section

POWER OF ATTORNEY

l, , having applied to be licensed as a non-

resident real estate broker in the State of Rhode Island, do hereby irrevocably appoint the
Director of the Department of Business Regulation, his successor or successors, as my lawful
attorney, upon whom all lawful processin any action or legal proceeding against me may be
served in like manner and with the same legal force and effect asif | had been lawfully served
with said process. Assuch, | do hereby authorize said attorney to receive and accept service of
process, pursuant to the provisions of Title 5, Chapter 20.5-10(d), of the General Laws of Rhode

Island, as amended.

Signature: Date:

Subscribed and sworn to before the undersigned authority in the State of :
in the County of , onthis , day of :
20

Notary Public

My Commission Expires:
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