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LICENSING REQUIREMENTS FOR ATTORNEYS

In accordance with R.I. General Laws 8 5-20.5-4 (d) of the Rhode Island Real Estate Laws,
“When an attorney at law, licensed by the Supreme Court of the State of Rhode Island, desires to
have a Real Estate Broker’s License or a Real Estate Salesperson’s License, the attorney, by
application, and upon payment of the applicable fee, as provided in § 5-20.5-11, shall be granted
a license without examination.”

All Real Estate Licenses expire on April 30™ of an even-numbered year, and are renewed
for a two-year period.

To apply for a Rhode Island Real Estate Broker License, you must submit the following:

1. A Completed Broker Application

2. Certification from the Rhode Island Supreme Court or Current Membership
Certificate from the Rhode Island Bar Association

3. A Lead Poisoning / Lead Hazard Mitigation Course Certificate (not less than three (3)
hours. (see website: www.dbr.state.ri.us for Lead Paint Providers)

4. A Certificate of Errors and Omissions Insurance, in accordance with Rhode Island
General Laws § 5-20.5-25. A Lawyer’s Professional Liability Policy does not meet
the requirements of § 5-20.5-25, Real Estate Broker Activities
A Criminal History Record (CHR) from the Rhode Island Attorney General’s Office
6. Checks as follows:

a. $180.00: payable to the Rhode Island General Treasurer (this includes the
$10.00 Application Fee and the $170.00 two-year license fee); for licenses
issued from May 1% of an even-numbered year to April 30" of an odd-
numbered year; or

b. $95.00: payable to the Rhode Island General Treasurer (this includes the
$10.00 Application Fee and the $85.00 license fee); for licenses issued from
May 1% of an odd-numbered year to April 30" of an even-numbered year, i.e.,
less than one year: and

c. $25.00: payable to the Real Estate Recovery Account.
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INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED.
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