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     REAL ESTATE  SALESPERSON & BROKER REQUIREMENTS 
 
All persons wanting to obtain a Real Estate License in the State of Rhode Island and 
Providence Plantations are required by law to know the RI General Laws and Rhode 
Island Real Estate Regulation No. 11: 
 
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE5/5-20.5/INDEX.HTM 
 
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE5/5-20.6/INDEX.HTM 
 
http://www.dbr.ri.gov/documents/rules/comm_licensing/Commercial_Licensing_Regulatio
n_11.pdf 
 
REQUIREMENTS FOR A SALESPERSONS LICENSE ARE AS FOLLOWS: 
 

 Certificate of successful completion of 45 hours of pre-licensing education; 
 Certificate of the three (3)-hour New Agency Law Course, unless it is included in 

curriculum of 45 hours of pre-licensing education;    
 Certificate of a three (3)-hour course in Lead Poisoning/Lead Hazard Mitigation; 
 The Original Test Score Report from Pearson VUE – Both pages; 
 A completed Real Estate Salesperson Application; 
 A Criminal History Record (CHR) from the Rhode Island Attorney General’s Office;  

 Please Note:  Non-residents must submit a CHR from the Attorney Generals Office of 

their home state, as well as one from the Rhode Island Attorney General’s Office; 

 Certificate of Errors and Omissions Insurance; 

 Tax Payer Status Affidavit / Identity Verification;   

 Non-resident applicants must provide a Certificate of Licensure from their home-state 
Licensing Authority.  

 Non-Resident applicants must provide an irrevocable Power of Attorney Form for 
Service of Process 
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http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE5/5-20.5/INDEX.HTM
http://webserver.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/TITLE5/5-20.6/INDEX.HTM
http://www.dbr.ri.gov/documents/rules/comm_licensing/Commercial_Licensing_Regulation_11.pdf
http://www.dbr.ri.gov/documents/rules/comm_licensing/Commercial_Licensing_Regulation_11.pdf
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REQUIREMENTS FOR A BROKER’S LICENSE ARE AS FOLLOWS: 
 
 

 Two-Years Experience as a Salesperson, which consists of the 45 hours of pre-
licensing and salesperson examination, (a statement under oath by the employing broker 
is acceptable), unless you have a Bachelors Degree in Real Estate, in which case the two 
year experience requirement, will be waived. OR;  

 Complete Ninety (90) hours of pre-licensing courses in subjects related to Real 
Estate from an accredited college, university, or proprietary school, that is licensed by 
the State of Rhode Island, which is currently listed under the heading “Education” on the 
Department’s website; (this educational requirement is in addition to the 45 hour sales 
pre-licensing classroom hours) 

 The Original Test Score Report from Pearson VUE, both pages; 
 Completed Real Estate Broker Application. (Available on our website at 

www.dbr.ri.gov ); 
 Criminal History Record (CHR) from the Rhode Island Attorney General’s office and 

your home state if not a Rhode Island resident; 
 Non-Residents must file an irrevocable Power of Attorney Form for service of process. 

(Available on our website at www.dbr.ri.gov );  
 Evidence of successful completion of a three-hour course in Lead Poisoning/Lead Hazard 

Mitigation; 
 Evidence of successful completion of three hours of New Agency Law, unless included 

in curriculum of either 45 or 90 hours of pre-licensing education; 
 A Certificate of Errors and Omissions Insurance; and 
 A Tax Payer Status Affidavit / Identity Verification. 
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