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REQUIREMENTS/APPLICATION FOR RECIPROCAL REAL ESTATE 

SALESPERSONS 
 
The following requirements apply to Non-residents who reside in Connecticut or Massachusetts, who 

currently have a Real Estate Salesperson license in either state.  

 
Please submit the following:  
 

• A completed Real Estate Salesperson Application; 

• A Criminal History Record (CHR) from the Rhode Island Department of the Attorney 

General’s office, as well as a CHR from applicant’s home state law enforcement agency.  

• A Tax Payer Status Affidavit / Identity Verification;   

• A Certificate of a three hour course in Lead Poisoning/Lead Hazard Mitigation  (See Real 

Estate Pre-Licensing and Continuing Education Course List at 

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/documents/divisions/commlicensing/realestate/RE-CE_Course_List.pdf; 

• A Certificate of Errors and Omissions Insurance;  

• A Certificate of Licensure/Letter of Good Standing from home state’s licensing authority.  

• An irrevocable Power of Attorney Form for service of process.  

 

Please submit TWO CHECKS as follows:  

• $75.00, payable to the “Rhode Island General Treasurer”- For licenses issued on or after 
May 1, of odd-numbered years AND, $25.00 payable to the “Real Estate Recovery 
Account.” 
OR; 

• $140.00, payable to the “Rhode Island General Treasurer” - For licenses issued on or after 
May 1, of even-numbered years AND, $25.00 payable to the “Real Estate Recovery 
Account.”     
 

*All licenses expire on April 30 of even-numbered years.  (There is no pro-rating of fees). 
Non-resident / Reciprocal applicants are exempt from the required Rhode Island continuing 
education as long as they maintain their home state continuing education requirements.  
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CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORD SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS 

 
FOR BROKER AND SALESPERSON APPLICANTS 

 
 
A Criminal History Record (“CHR”) must be submitted to the Real Estate Section of the 
Department of Business Regulation (“DBR”), Division of Commercial Licensing with each 
Real Estate Application.  Processing applications is contingent upon the complete disposition, or 
results of any charges delineated or resolved prior to application submission.  See instructions 
below to learn how to obtain your CHR.   

 
INSTRUCTIONS 

 
Applying in Person:  A Criminal History Record may be obtained by visiting the Bureau of 
Criminal Identification at the Rhode Island Department of Attorney General (“DAG”).  To apply 
for a CHR in this manner, bring a picture-identification, showing your date of birth. 
 
Applying by Mail:  To apply by mail, send a notarized copy of a photo ID, showing your date of 
birth, and a signed/notarized letter, giving permission to the DAG to conduct a background 
investigation, along with a self-addressed stamped envelope. 
 
Mail to: Department of the Attorney General 
  4 Howard Avenue 
  Cranston, Rhode Island, 02920 
 
Hours of operation are 8:30 am to 4:30 pm. 
 
The cost for a CHR, whether applying in person or by mail, is five dollars ($5.00), and is payable 
by check or money order to the “BCI”.  Please allow time for the DAG to process and generate 
your request.  For further questions about this process, you may contact the DAG at (401) 274-
4400. 
 
If you reside in another state, supply a CHR from your home state, as well as one from 
Rhode Island. 
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RECIPROCAL REAL ESTATE SALESPERSON APPLICATION 
Please print or type. All incomplete applications will be returned. Please allow 7-10 days for processing. 
 
1.  Name of Applicant: 
 
 

2.  Date of Birth 3.  Age 4.  Legal resident 
  Yes          No   

5.  Residential Address:                                            City / Town                               State           Zip Code 
 
 
6.  Telephone Number: 

 
 

7.  Email Address: 8. Social Security Number: 
 

9.  Present Occupation: 
 

10.   Real Estate Agency Name & Address:                Street / City / Town:                State:        Zip Code: 
             
        Telephone Number: 
11.   Principal Broker’s Name and Rhode Island License Number: 
                                           
                       
12.  Have you ever been refused a Real Estate Broker or Salesperson license in this state or any other state? 
                                                                                                    Yes      No   
13. Have you ever had a Real Estate Broker or Salesperson license suspended or revoked in this state or any 

other state?                                                                           Yes      No   
14. Have you ever been convicted of, or plead guilty or nolo contendre to forgery, embezzlement, obtaining  

money under false pretenses, bribery, larceny, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, or any other offenses of  
any type which would reasonably cause the Department to question your honesty, trustworthiness,  
integrity, good reputation or competency?                          Yes      No   
                                                                                             

 
 IF YOU ANSWERED “YES” TO QUESTIONS 12 - 14, 

 ATTACH A FULL EXPLANATION. 
 

15.  Occupations engaged in during the past five years: 
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STATEMENT OF LICENSED REAL ESTATE PRINCIPAL BROKER 

 
Being the Principal Broker of the agency mentioned below, I certify that the applicant, has applied for 
employment as a salesperson, and in my opinion, is competent and trustworthy, and is hereby recommended as 
a suitable person to be granted a Real Estate Salesperson’s license. 
 
 
Name of Agency:  ___________________________________________________ 
 
Address:  __________________________________________________________ 
 

Principal Broker’s 
Rhode Island Lic. # 

 
Principal Broker’s Name: (PRINT)  ____________________________________________ 
 
Principal Broker’s Signature: __________________________________________________ 
 

 
STATEMENT OF APPLICANT 

 
I, the undersigned, swear under penalty of perjury, that the information provided in connection with this 
application is true to the best of my knowledge, with the understanding that any omissions, inaccuracies or 
failure to make full disclosures may be deemed sufficient reason to deny licensure as a Real Estate Salesperson 
by the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation. 
 
 

Signature ___________________________________ Date _______________________ 
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 Tax Payer Status Affidavit / Identity Verification 
 
 
 

 
All persons applying or renewing any license, registration, permit or other authority (hereinafter 
called “licensee”) to conduct a business or occupation in the state of Rhode Island are required to 
file all applicable tax returns and pay all taxes owed to the state prior to receiving a license as 
mandated by state law (RIGL 5-76) except as noted below. 
 
In order to verify that the state is not owed taxes, licensees are required to provide their Social 
Security Number and Federal Tax Identification Number as appropriate.  These numbers will be 
transmitted to the Division of Taxation to verify tax status prior to the issuance of a license.  This 
declaration must be made prior to the issuance of a license. 
 

 

Licensee Declaration 
□ I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury, that I have filed all required state tax returns and have paid all taxes 
owed. 

□ I have entered a written installment agreement to pay delinquent taxes that is satisfactory to the Tax 
Administrator.  

□ I am currently pursuing administrative review of taxes owed to the state.  

□ I am in federal bankruptcy. (Case #                                                    )  

□ I am in state receivership. (Case #                                                        )  

□ I have been discharged from Bankruptcy. (Case #                                                      )  
 
 

  

Full Name (Please Print or Type)              Social Security Number (or FEIN for Business)  

 

 

Signature        Date       
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POWER OF ATTORNEY 
 
 
I, ______________________________________, having applied to be licensed as a non-

resident real estate salesperson in the State of Rhode Island, do hereby irrevocably appoint the 

Director of the Department of Business Regulation, his successor or successors, as my lawful 

attorney, upon whom all lawful process in any action or legal proceeding against me may be 

served in like manner and with the same legal force and effect as if I had been lawfully served 

with said process.  As such, I do hereby authorize said attorney to receive and accept service of 

process, pursuant to the provisions of Title 5, Chapter 20.5-10(d), of the General Laws of Rhode 

Island, as amended.  

     

Signature: __________________________________       Date: _____________________ 

 

 

Subscribed and sworn to before the undersigned authority in the State of __________________, 

in the County of ________________________, on this __________, day of _______________, 

20_______.  

 

      _____________________________________________ 
       Notary Public 
 

     My Commission Expires:  ________________________. 
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