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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS  

Department of Business Regulation 
DIVISION OF COMMERCIAL LICENSING AND 

RACING AND ATHLETICS 
Real Estate Division 

 

 

John O. Pastore Center  
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 Cranston, RI 02920-0942  
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REQUIREMENTS FOR A  

REAL ESTATE BROKER LICENSE 
(RHODE ISLAND RESIDENTS AND NON-RESIDENTS) 

 
The following Requirements apply to Rhode Island Residents and Non-residents. 

For Non-residents who reside in Connecticut or Massachusetts, and currently have a 
Real Estate Broker License, see Non-resident / Reciprocal Requirements. 

 
**Rhode Island Attorneys are Exempt from taking the Examination, but are subject to Continuing 

Education Requirements** 
 

Candidates of legal age (18 years of age) for a Real Estate Broker’s license must contact Pearson VUE to 
schedule an examination by: 

• Calling Pearson VUE at (800) 274-8922 
• Faxing the Fax Reservation Form (from Appendix) to (888) 204-6291 
• Visiting their Website (www.pearsonvue.com) 

The examination must be taken before submitting an application to the Rhode Island Department of Business 
Regulation, Division of Commercial Licensing and Racing and Athletics, Real Estate Section. 
 
Upon successfully passing the examination, candidates must submit the following: 

• The Original Test Score Report from Pearson VUE – Both pages; 
• Completed Real Estate Broker Application. (Available on our website at www.dbr.state.ri.us); 
• Evidence of One-Year Full Time Experience as a Salesperson, (A statement under oath by the 

employing broker is acceptable) immediately prior to submitting the application; or, 
• Ninety (90) hours of pre-licensing courses in subjects related to Real Estate from an accredited college, 

university, or proprietary school, licensed by the State of Rhode Island, or an equivalent, offered by the 
extension department of an accredited college or university; 

• Study requirement shall be waived if the applicant has a baccalaureate degree with a major in real estate 
from an accredited college or university; (Available on our website at www.dbr.state.ri.us); 

• Criminal History Record (CHR) from the Rhode Island Attorney General’s office and your home state if 
not a Rhode Island resident; 

• Non-Residents must file an irrevocable Power of Attorney Form for service of process. (Available on 
our website at www.dbr.state.ri.us).  Click on Real Estate to access the menu;  

• Evidence of successful completion of a three-hour course in Lead Poisoning/Lead Hazard Mitigation; 
• Evidence of successful completion of three hours of New Agency Law, unless included in curriculum of  

90 hours of pre-licensing education; 
• A Certificate of Errors and Omissions Insurance; and 
• A Tax Payer Status Affidavit / Identity Verification. 
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Please submit TWO CHECKS as follows:  

• $95.00, payable to the “Rhode Island General Treasurer” - For licenses issued on or after May 1, of 
odd-numbered years, through April 30, of even-numbered years – (this includes the $10.00 Application 
Fee and $85.00 License Fee); AND,  

• $25.00 payable to the “Real Estate Recovery Account”; 
OR, 

• $180.00, payable to the “Rhode Island General Treasurer” - For licenses issued on or after May 1, of 
even-numbered years, through April 30, of odd-numbered years – (this includes the $10.00 Application 
Fee and $170.00 License Fee); AND,  

• $25.00 payable to the “Real Estate Recovery Account”. 
 
 
 
Applications must be completely filled out with all required signatures, and properly notarized where 
required.  All supporting documents and fees must be included when submitted.  
 
 
 
 

INCOMPLETE APPLICATIONS WILL BE RETURNED TO THE APPLICANT, 
DELAYING THE LICENSING PROCESS. 

 
 

*All licenses expire on April 30 of even-numbered years. 
 

There is no pro-rating of fees. 
 

The Department of Business Regulation has a 24-hour continuing education  
requirement that is due before license renewal. 
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