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STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS 

DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION 

INSURANCE DIVISION 

 

APPLICATION FOR A RHODE ISLAND CERTIFICATE OF AUTHORITY 

FOREIGN LIFE & HEALTH OR PROPERTY& CASUALTY COMPANY 

 

 

Rhode Island has adopted the National Association of Insurance Commissioners’ Uniform Certificate of Authority 

Application (NAIC UCAA) for foreign Life and Health (L&H), Title and Property and Casualty (P&C) insurance 

companies.  

 

Foreign company applications are accepted, reviewed, and processed pursuant to R.I. Insurance Regulation 30. 

Applications are reviewed in chronological order, based on their date of receipt. In addition to a non-refundable $1,200 

fee due at time of application, upon the completion of the analysis, the applicant will be invoiced for the actual time 

incurred in conducting the analysis in accordance with the expense calculation for examinations under RI General Law 

27-13.1-7(a)(1). 

 

Beginning on June 1, 2008, the Division will no longer accept applications in hard copy. Please submit the application 

along with all pertinent attachments and related documents in .PDF format on CD or DVD arranged and separated in 

accordance with the application table of contents numbered 1 thru 14. Please note that items 1, 6, 11 and 12 require 

multiple filings. Those items must be broken out and labeled separately, not submitted as one whole file. The only hard 

copy items should be the company’s required cover letter and check for the $1,200 New Application Fee. Electronic and 

non-electronic UCAA Expansion filings not properly arranged will be returned to the company for correction.  

 

 

Foreign L&H, Title or P&C insurance companies contemplating applying for a R.I. Certificate of Authority should 

familiarize themselves with the following items:  

 

RI Regulation 30 (available online at http://www.dbr.ri.gov/documents/rules/insurance/Insurance_Regulation_30.pdf)  

 

Regulation 30 sets forth the standards for any Foreign L&H, Title or P&C insurance company seeking to be licensed to 

transact business in RI. Regulation 30 also indicates the conditions for consideration for licensure, filing requirements, 

and some of the procedures that we will follow in our review of a company’s application.  

 

NAIC UCAA Expansion Application (available online at http://www.naic.org/industry_ucaa_expansion.htm)  

 

Pursuant to Regulation 30, as amended effective December 19, 2001, applications for a RI Certificate of Authority must 

follow the standards established by the NAIC UCAA. A Foreign L&H Title or P&C insurance company must use the 

Expansion Application.  

 

Rhode Island State Specific Information  

 

The following RI specific items have been excerpted from both Regulation 30 and the NAIC UCAA Expansion 

Application. These RI specific items are in addition to the general items that apply to an application to any state.  

 

• Filing Fee  

 

Rhode Island General Law (R.I.G.L.) Chapter 27-2.1 mandates a non-refundable application fee of $1,200 for 

new foreign company applications. That check should be made payable to the R.I. General Treasurer and should 

be submitted with the application.  

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/documents/rules/insurance/Insurance_Regulation_30.pdf
http://www.naic.org/industry_ucaa_expansion.htm
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• Application for a RI Certificate of Authority - Life and Health, Title or Property and Casualty  

 

Upon the completion of the analysis, the applicant will be invoiced for the actual time incurred in conducting the 

analysis in accordance with the expense calculation for examinations under RI General Law 27-13.1-7(a)(1). 

 

Note: Pursuant to R.I.G.L. §27-2-17(a), these fees are subject to retaliation if the company’s state of domicile 

would charge a R.I. insurance company a higher fee.  

 

• Minimum Capital and Surplus Requirements  

 

R.I.G.L. §27-2-5 stipulates that a foreign stock L&H or P&C company have at least $1,000,000 of paid-in capital 

stock and $2,000,000 of surplus; and that a foreign mutual L&H or P&C company must have at least $3,000,000 

of total surplus. 

  

• Statutory Deposit Requirements  

 

R.I.G.L. §27-2-6 stipulates that a foreign L&H or P&C company maintain a deposit with a minimum market 

value of $100,000 in its state of domicile for the benefit of all policyholders. A certified copy of the company’s 

domestic deposit must be submitted with the company’s application.  

 

R.I.G.L. §27-2-6.1 authorizes the insurance commissioner, at his or her discretion, to require an additional special 

deposit for the benefit of all R.I. policyholders as a condition to licensing.  

 

Pursuant to R.I.G.L. §27-2-17(a), such deposits are subject to retaliation if the company’s state of domicile would 

require a like RI company to have a larger deposit. In the event that a retaliatory deposit or a special deposit is 

required, we would advise you of the amount required and provide routing details at that time.  

 

• Name Approval  

 

Rhode Island does not reserve names. Generally, we will rely on the domestic state insurance 

department/division’s acceptance of a company’s name. However, we will not approve an application from a 

company whose name is the same as or similar to a company already licensed in this state, nor will we approve an 

application from a company whose name, in our estimation, would tend to create confusion in the minds of 

policyholders.  

 

• Business Plan  

 

The detailed Business Plan must include direct written premium and loss projections for a P&C company, or 

direct paid premium projections for L&H and Title companies, for RI business for each of the next three years. 

That Business Plan must be certified by the company’s Corporate Secretary.  

 

• Reports of Examination  

 

The company must submit a copy of the most recent Financial Examination and Market Conduct Examination 

Reports, currently certified by its domestic insurance department/division as the most recent Examination Report 

of either type. We prefer that the published date of the Financial Examination Report be no more than three years 

prior to the date of the application, but if the domestic department/division has not completed a Financial 

Examination within the last three years, consideration will be given to an older Financial Examination Report.  
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• Statutory Memberships  

 

R.I.G.L. §27-34-6 requires that all P&C insurers shall be and remain members of the RI Insurers’ Insolvency 

Fund. Contact: Tel. #: 800-852-2003  

 

R.I.G.L. §27-34.3-6(a) requires that all L&H insurers shall be and remain members of the RI Life and Health 

Insurance Guaranty Association. Contact: William Dixon; Tel. #: 401-273-2921  

 

R.I.G.L. §31-33-8 and RI Insurance Regulation 98 require that all automobile insurers must participate in the RI 

Automobile Insurance Plan. A company applying for a RI Certificate of Authority that will include those lines of 

business must submit a statement on company letterhead, signed by the appropriate company official and 

certifying that the company will become a member of the RI Automobile Insurance Plan upon approval and 

issuance of its RI Certificate of Authority. Contact: Anthony Madalone, Mgr.; Tel. #: 401-528-1320  

 

R.I.G.L. §27-33-2 and RI Insurance Regulation 15 require that all insurers licensed to write those classes of 

insurance listed in §27-8-1 and §27-8-3 on a direct basis, must participate in the basic property insurance program 

established in RI, the RI Joint Reinsurance Association (the "R.I. FAIR Plan"). A company applying for a RI 

Certificate of Authority that will include those lines of business must submit a statement on company letterhead, 

signed by the appropriate company official and certifying that the company will become a member of the RI Joint 

Reinsurance Association upon approval and issuance of its R.I. Certificate of Authority. Contact: John K. 

Golembeski, President; Tel. #: 800-851-8978  

 

R.I.G.L. §42-14.1-1 and RI Insurance Regulation 21 require that all insurers licensed to write "personal injury 

liability insurance" on a direct basis must be members of the Medical Malpractice Joint Underwriting Association 

of R.I. (MMJUA-RI). Contact: James M. Vaccarino; Tel. #: 401-752-8600  

 

• Public Records  

 

The following required items will be public documents when received:  

•     the most recent Annual and Quarterly Statements;  

•     the most recent Actuarial Opinion and Management Discussion and Analysis;  

•     the most recent CPA Audited Financial Report;  

•     the most recent Financial Examination and Market Conduct Examination Report;  

•     the completed Application Form itself;  

•     current Articles of Incorporation and By-Laws;  

•     the appointment for service of process.  

 

The following required item will NOT be a public document, but must still be filed:  

• the most recent Holding Company Filing (“Form B”)  

PLEASE NOTE, if the applicant company’s state of domicile insurance holding company disclosure 

requirements and standards are substantially similar to the requirements of R.I.G.L. §27-35-1 et seq., 

the applicant shall submit only an affidavit attesting to that “substantial similarity” and shall not 

submit a full Form B filing. If such an affidavit cannot be provided, the Form B filing should be 

submitted with a cover letter explaining the absence of “substantial similarity”.  

 

• NAIC Biographical Affidavits or Business Character Reports  

 

The NAIC Biographical Affidavit, is accepted. R.I. does not require the filing of the third-party verifications or 

fingerprint cards.  

 

 

 

 



(Revised 1/16/14)  

 
 

• Online RI General Laws and Insurance Regulations  

 

General Laws at: http://www.rilin.state.ri.us/Statutes/Statutes.html  

Insurance Regulations at: http://www.dbr.ri.gov/documents/rules/insurance/Insurance_Regulation_30.pdf  

 

• Power of Attorney  

 

No foreign insurance company may transact business in RI until it has appointed the Insurance Commissioner as 

attorney to receive service of process. Please use UCAA Uniform Consent to Service of Process From 12.  

 

• Variable Life and/or Variable Annuity  

 

If the proposed lines of business for a L&H company include variable life and/or variable annuity authority, the 

applicant company must also submit a written opinion as to whether the applicant company’s state of domicile 

regulation provides a degree of protection to policyholders and the public which is substantially equal to that 

provided by R.I.G.L. Chapter 27-32 and documentation showing that the company has established a separate 

account(s).  

 

• Form B  

 

Pursuant to R.I.G.L. §27-35-3(a), if the applicant company’s state of domicile insurance holding company 

disclosure requirements and standards are substantially similar to the requirements of R.I.G.L. §27-35, submit 

only an affidavit attesting to that "substantial similarity"; do not submit a full Form B filing. If such an affidavit 

cannot be provided, the Form B filing should be submitted with a cover letter explaining the absence of 

"substantial similarity". (See UCAA Expansion Application Form No. 1E, Question 7)  

 

• Retaliatory Statement  

 

A Retaliatory Statement, completed by the company’s domestic Insurance Department/Division, will only be 

required when the domiciliary state does not have the proper information available to us through the UCAA 

Retaliatory Information Page. The company should obtain a blank RI Retaliatory Statement, available online at: 

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/documents/divisions/insurance/foreign/RetaliatoryStatement.PDF. (See Expansion 

Application Form No. 1E, Question 12c.)  

 

• Updates  

 

If, during the course of the application and review process, any of the items above are updated, the company is 

expected to keep its application current with copies of the new or updated item.  

 

All of the above items, including the $1,200 application fee, should be sent as a single package to the attention of Jack 

Kearney to:  

 

RI Insurance Division  

1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-2  

Cranston, RI 02920  

 

Prior to approval of the company’s application, if you have any questions with regard to the application process, feel free 

to contact:  

 

Jack Kearney, Insurance Examiner-In-Charge   Jack Broccoli, Chief Insurance Examiner  

Telephone: (401) 462-9626     Telephone: (401) 462-9606  

E-mail: Jack.Kearney@dbr.ri.gov    E-mail: Jack.Broccoli@dbr.ri.gov 

Fax: (401) 462-9602      Fax: (401) 462-9602  

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/documents/rules/insurance/Insurance_Regulation_30.pdf
mailto:Jack.Kearney@dbr.ri.gov
mailto:Jack.Broccoli@dbr.ri.gov


(Revised 1/16/14)  

 
 

 

Subsequent to approval of the application, and issuance of an RI Certificate of Authority, communications for foreign 

companies should be directed to Jack Kearney.  

 

Other types of foreign companies (HMOs, Fraternal Societies, Captives, RRGs, Surplus Line companies, Reciprocal 

Exchanges, and Authorized or Accredited Reinsurers) as well as any domestic insurance companies should contact Jack 

Broccoli for specific instructions when applying. 


