Department of Business Regulation
233 Richmond Street
Providence, RI 02903

Insurance Bulletin Number 2002-13

Form and Rate Filing Fees

R.I. Gen. Laws § 42-14-18 mandates a forty dollar ($40) filing fee for
each policy or certificate form in a filing package and a twenty five dollar
($25) filing fee for each policy, with which a package of related forms or
revised rates in connection with a policy that has been previously approved,
may be used. The fee must be submitted with each filing package by means of a
check payable to: General Treasurer, State of Rhode Island. There is no fee to
withdraw forms that a company no longer intends to use in Rhode Island.

HOW TO FIGURE YOUR FEE

When a master contract and certificates are filed in one
package, count each policy and each certificate and multiply by
forty dollars ($40). (Do not count riders, endorsements,
application, rates or alternative paragraphs.)

When riders, endorsements, applications, alternative
paragraphs or rates are filed singly or in a package without
policy or certificate forms, count the number of policies to which
the forms will be attached, in which the paragraphs will be used, or
with which the rates will be used and multiply by twenty five
dollars ($25). (Do not count the forms, paragraphs and/or rates,
themselves)

If the retaliatory fee for your company’s domicile is more, pay
the retaliatory fee.

THE TRANSMITTAL LETTER MUST LIST ALL POLICY FORMS WITH
WHICH ANY RIDERS, ENDORSEMENTS, APPLICATION, ALTERNATIVE
PARAGRAPHS OR RATES WILL BE USED. REFERENCE TO “ALL
POLICY FORMS APPROVED IN RHODE ISLAND” IS NOT ACCEPTABLE.
FILINGS RECEIVED WITHOUT THE CORRECT FEE OR WITHOUT A
LIST OF ALL POLICY FORMS WILL BE CONSIDERED INCOMPLETE
AND NOT SUBJECT TO ANY “DEEMER” PROVISIONS IN LAW OR
REGULATIONS.
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