State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 68-2
Cranston, Rhode Island 02920

Division of Banking

August 2, 2011

TO: All Licensees
FROM: Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation/DiV Banking
RE: REMINDER OF REQUIREMENT FOR AN L ING EDUCATION

This is a reminder that under R. I. Gen Law 8§
originators (“MLQO”) are required to complete ei
education (“CE”). The 8 hours of continuin Include: 3 hours in federal law; 2
and fair lending issues); 2 hours of
f elective (Rl State-Specific). MLOs are
ossible. Additional information about CE

1, an enhancement is being released in the NMLS which
nctionality to prevent an MLO from submitting an application
e not completed the CE. State licensing agencies using the
f this)new system functionality. Since it may take as long as seven (7)
days for a course to report a course completion into the NMLS, MLOs are strongly
encouraged not to w. ntil the last minute to complete CE as they may be prevented from
submitting their renewal on time.

NMLS will m

If you have questions about completing CE, please contact the NMLS call center at
(240) 386-4444 (M-F), Rebecca L. Specht, Principal Licensing Examiner at
Rebecca.Specht@dbr.ri.gov or call (401) 462-9503.
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