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Insurance Bulletin Number 2005-3 
 

Worker Compensation Insurance 
Reporting of Rhode Island Taxpayer Identification Numbers 

 
The Department of Business Regulation issues this Bulletin to supplement the 
information provided in Insurance Bulletin #2003-19.  Based upon recent information 
provided by the Department of Labor and Training, this is an update on the Rhode 
Island taxpayer identification number reporting requirements of January 1, 2004. 
 
Please see the default codes and rules below for reporting without the Rhode Island 
taxpayer identification number. 
 

1. If for some reason an insurer can not get the number for an established 
employer from the agent or employer then they should file any transactions 
with the Department of Labor and Training using the default 0000000001. 

 
2. Since a Rhode Island taxpayer identification number is not issued to new 

employers until the employer has issued a payroll an insurer shall issue 
policies to new employers and file the policy information with the 
Department of Labor and Training using default 0000000002 in place of the 
Rhode Island taxpayer identification number.  This default applies only to 
new businesses.  Any transactions submitted 60 days after the original 
policy will require the taxpayer identification number or they may be 
rejected and subject the insurer to a penalty of $250.00 

 
3. Some employers are exempt per R.I.G.L. § 28-42-8 and therefore not 

eligible to receive a Rhode Island taxpayer identification number.  An 
insurer shall use the default 0000000003 when filing policy information for 
an exempt employer. 

 
4. An insurer may issue an “if any” policy where the employer does not 

currently have employees and therefore is not eligible for a Rhode Island 
taxpayer identification number.  When reporting policy information for an 
“if any” policy the insurer shall use the default 0000000004. 

 



Should you have any questions please contact Matthew P. Carey, Assistant Director, 
R.I. Department of Labor and Training, at 401-462-8127 or e-mail at 
Matt.Carey@dlt.ri.gov. 
 

Joseph Torti III 
Associate Director and Superintendent of Insurance 
April 8, 2005 
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