State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION
Division of Commercial Licensing
233 Richmond Street
Providence, RI 02903

NOTICE OF PROPOSED AMENDED REGULATION
AND NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 42-14-17 and 42-
35-3, that the Director of the Department of Business Regulation (“Department”)
proposes to amend the following Regulation:

Commercial Licensing Regulation 7 — Salvage Vehicle Repair

The Proposed Regulation increases the licensing fee from two hundred dollars
($200) per year to four hundred dollars ($400) per year for a total licensing fee of one
thousand two hundred dollars ($1,200) for a three (3) year licensing cycle pursuant to R.1.
Gen. Laws § 31-46-7.

Notice is also hereby given, in accordance with R.I. Gen. Laws § 42-35-2, that the
Department of Business Regulation will hold a public hearing regarding the Amended
Commercial Licensing Regulation 7-Salvage Vehicle Repair beginning at 10:00 a.m.
on July 7, 2008 in Conference Room A of the Department of Business Regulation, 1511
Pontiac Avenue, Building 69-1, Cranston, Rhode Island, 02920.

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE THAT DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION
WILL BE MOVING FROM PROVIDENCE, RHODE ISLAND TO 1511
PONTIAC AVENUE IN CRANSTON, RHODE ISLAND THE WEEK OF JUNE 9,
2008.

Copies of the Proposed Amended Regulations are on file at the Department and
copies may be obtained from the Legal Division, Department of Business Regulation,
located at 233 Richmond Street, Providence RI 02903 (prior to June 18, 2008) and 1511
Pontiac Avenue, Building 68-1, Cranston, RI 02920 (after June 18, 2008) during normal
working hours on regular business days or by mail upon request. The Proposed
Amended Regulations may also be obtained from the Department’s website
www.dbr.state.ri.us.

In the development of the Proposed Amended Regulations, consideration was
given to overlapping approaches, overlap and duplication with other statutory and
regulatory provisions and economic impact on small business and cities and towns.

All interested persons may submit their views, data or arguments regarding the
Proposed Amended Regulations, including information relating to alternative
approaches, duplication or overlap with other state rules or regulations and the economic




impact of the Regulations on small business and/or cities and towns, orally at the public
hearing or in writing, either by delivering the same in person or United States mail with
postage pre-paid thereon to the Department of Business Regulation, 233 Richmond
Street, Providence, Rhode Island 02903 or 1511 Pontiac Ave., Building 68-1, Cranston,
RI 02920 to Neena Sinha Savage, Esq., Hearing Officer or by e-mail to
Neena_Savage(@dbr.state.ri.us.

ALL SUBMISSIONS MUST BE RECEIVED NOT LATER THAN JULY 7,
2007 AT 10:00 A.M.

The hearing room is accessible to the handicapped. Individuals requesting
interpreter services for the hearing impaired must notify the Office of Legal Counsel at
(401) 222 5400 or TDD (401) 222 2999 not less than ninety-six (96) hours in advance of
the hearing date.

A. Michael Marques
Director, Department of Business
Regulation




STATE OF RHODE ISLAND AND PROVIDENCE PLANTATIONS
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION
DIVISION OF COMMERCIAL LICENSING AND RACING & ATHLETICS
233 RICHMOND STREET
PROVIDENCE, RHODE ISLAND 02903

SUMMARY OF PROPOSED NON-TECHNICAL AMENDMENTS
TO PROPOSED COMMERCIAL LICENSING REGULATION 7-
SALVAGE VEHICLE REPAIR

Notice is hereby given, in accordance with R.I. Gen. Laws § 42-35-3 that the following is
a concise summary of the proposed non-technical amendments to Commercial Licensing
Regulation 7, entitled Salvage Vehicle Repair (“Proposed Regulation”).  The only
amendment to the Proposed Regulation is an amendment to Section 4(D) to increase
license fees from two hundred dollars ($200) per year to four hundred dollars ($400) per
year for a total licensing fee of one thousand two hundred dollars ($1,200) for a three (3)
year licensing cycle pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-46-7.




State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION
Division of Commercial Licensing
233 Richmond Street
Providence, RI 02903

PROPOSED AMENDMENT
Commercial Licensing Regulation 7 - Salvage Vehicle Repair
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Section 1 Authority

This Regulation is issued pursuant to the authority vested in the Director of the
Department of Business Regulation of the State of Rhode Island (“Department”) under R.1. Gen.
Laws §§ 5-38-2, 5-38-4, 31-46-7 and 42-37-17.

Section 2 Purpose

The purpose of this Regulation is to create standards and procedures for the issuance of a
salvage rebuilder's license to licensed automobile body repair shop facilities so that such
facilities may repair total loss salvage vehicles. This Regulation is intended to ensure that
vehicles are reconstructed in a safe manner for the consumer/retail buyer, and to prohibit the use
of stolen parts/vehicles in the rebuilding of such vehicles.

Section 3 Definitions

A. “Act” means R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-46-1 ef seq. ("Rhode Island Salvage
Law").
B. “Agent” means an individual specifically authorized by another to act on

his or her behalf.




“Applicant” means an Automobile Body Repair Shop licensed pursuant to
R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-38-1 et seq. filing an application for a License to
conduct the Business of Salvage Vehicle Repairing.

“Business of Salvage Vehicle Repairing” means the act or acts of
preparing, fixing, restoring, or putting together Salvage Vehicles for the
purpose of resale in the retail market.

“Certificate of Salvage Repair” means a certificate executed by a Licensee
which shall certify that the Licensee has rebuilt the Salvage Vehicle in
accordance with R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-46-1 ef seq. and this Regulation and
must accompany the vehicle to the inspection station and registry.

“Department” means the Department of Business Regulation.
“Director” means the Director of the Department of Business Regulation.

“License” means a license issued by the Department in accordance with
R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-46-7 authorizing an Automobile Body Repair Shop to
conduct the Business of Salvage Vehicle Repairing.

“Licensee” means an entity that is authorized to conduct the Business of
Salvage Vehicle Repairing.

“Motorcycle” means only those Vehicles having not more than three (3)
wheels in contact with the ground and a saddle on which the driver sits
astride, except for bicycles with helper motors as defined in R.I. Gen.
Laws § 31-1-3.

“Motorcyles Only License” means a License issued by the Department in
accordance with R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-46-7 authorizing an Automobile
Body Repair Shop to conduct the Business of Salvage Vehicle Repairing
of Motorcycles, but not any other type of Vehicle.

“Person" means any individual, partnership, association, trust or
corporation.

“Salvage Vehicle” means a vehicle declared to be a total loss because of

(1) damage to such vehicle or
(i)  in settlement of a claim for damage or theft.

“Vehicle” means an automobile, truck, or motor vehicle of any type.




Section 4 License

A. License Required. No Person may engage in the Business of Salvage
Vehicle Repairing without first obtaining a License. Only Automobile
Body Repair Shops licensed pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-38-1 ef seq.
are eligible. The term of each License issued shall not exceed three (3)
years.

B. (i) Experience and/or education requirements. Prior to applying for licensure,
each Applicant, or at least fifty percent (50%) of its employees, must be
certified as defined in paragraph 4B (ii) in each of the following areas:

(a) Identification and Analysis of Damage to vehicles;
(b) Measuring Principles and Techniques;

(c) Straightening Systems and Techniques;

(d) Welding in Collision Repair;

(e) Replacement of Structural Parts;
(H) Restoring Corrosion Protection;
(2) Suspension, Steering, and Alignment; and

(h) Working with Mechanical and Electrical parts.

B. (i1) The following experience and/or education requirements satisfy paragraph
4B(1) by one (1) of the following:

(2) Automotive Service Excellence ("ASE") certification;

(b) A minimum of two (2) years experience as an auto technician,
engine mechanic or automobile repairer and refinisher;

(c) Inter-Industry Conference on Auto Collision Repair ("ICAR")
certification;

(d) Successful completion of courses approved by the Director and a
minimum of one (1) year’s experience as an auto technician,
engine mechanic or automobile repairer and refinisher; or

(e) Sufficient prior experience deemed acceptable by the Director.

An Applicant who wishes to become certified under paragraph 4B(ii) must submit
certified copies of his/her transcript demonstrating courses completed and grades
achieved. An Applicant must also submit detailed syllabi outlining the content of
the courses and certificates of attendance and completion, as applicable.

C. (1) Equipment Requirements. Each Applicant shall have at its facility at least
the following equipment:

(a)  FElectrical and/or hydraulic pulling equipment;
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C. (ii)

(b)

(©
(d)

(e)
(0

Current dimensional guides appropriate to the vehicle being
repaired; (c) A four (4) point clamping system to secure the vehicle
while making structural repairs;

Equipment/gauges capable of measuring symmetrical and
asymmetrical vehicles;

Appropriate welding equipment that meets or exceeds the
manufacturer's requirements, but at a minimum shall include a
MIG Welder;

A refinishing area that complies with safety and environmental
regulations; and

A paint system that can produce an original equipment
manufacturer's type finish.

Equipment Requirements for Motorcycles Only License. Each Applicant
for a Motorcycles Only License shall have at its facility at least the
following equipment:

(a)
(b)

(c)

A minimum of two (2) motor vehicle lifts;

Appropriate welding equipment that meets or exceeds the
manufacturer’s requirements, but at a minimum shall include a
MIG welder; and ’

Appropriate hand tools that meet or exceed the manufacturer’s
requirements.

Application. Each Applicant shall submit to the Department the following:

(1)
(i)

(iii)
(iv)
v)

(vi)

The completed application form adopted by the Department;
A copy of a valid Rhode Island Automobile Body Repair Shop
License;

The total license fee of six-one thousand two hundred dollars

dollars ($2400.00) per year);

The Applicant's EPA number;

Evidence of education or work experience by the Applicant or
employees; and

Evidence of minimum equipment compliance.

On Site Inspection. Before issuing a License a field representative of the

Department may make an on site inspection of the Applicant's business
premises.

License Non-transferable. A License may be used only by the parties

named in such license and shall not inure to the benefit of any other
parties. The License may not be assigned or transferred.




(1) Surrender of License. Any Licensee may surrender any License by
delivering to the Director written notice that the Licensee
surrenders the License, but the surrender shall not affect the
Licensee's civil or criminal liability for acts committed prior to the
surrender thereof.

(i)  Termination of License. Whenever an individual Licensee retires
or dies it shall be the duty of the Licensee or his/her estate to
deliver the License in person or by first class mail, postage
prepaid, to the Director within fifteen (15) days following the
retirement or death.

Section 5 Resale of Repaired Salvage Vehicles

A.

No Person shall sell or offer to sell any Salvage Vehicle repaired by a
Licensee without first having such vehicle issued a certificate of
inspection in accordance with R.I. Gen. Laws § 31-38-1 et seq. The
provisions of this Regulation are in addition to any and all other provisions
of law and Regulation concerning the rebuilding and sale of Salvage
Vehicles.

Each Licensee will be given assigned numbered Certificate of Salvage
Repair forms. Failure to supervise and control the Certificate of Salvage
Repair forms in conformance with this Regulation may result in the
suspension or revocation of the License.

Section 6 Change in Ownership or Management

A.

The Department must be notified in writing within fifteen (15) days if
there is a change in the membership of any Licensee which holds a
License.

Notification of change must be sent to the Department and shall contain
the name and address of the member or officer who has been succeeded,
and comparable information about any change in ownership greater than
ten percent (10%).

Section 7 Consumer Complaints

All complaints of possible violations of the Act and this Regulation may be investigated
by a field representative of the Department. The Director may upon his/her own motion or upon
the verified complaint in writing of any person setting forth a cause, hold a hearing for the
suspension, revocation or non-renewal of a License.




Section 8 Denial, Non- Renewal, Suspension or Revocation

The Director may deny, non-renew, suspend or revoke the License of any Licensee or an
Applicant for any of the following reasons:

A. Violation of any provisions of the Act or this Regulation;

B. Where an applicant has made a materially untrue statement in the
application;

C. On proof of unfitness of an Applicant to conduct the Business of Salvage
Vehicle Repairing;

D. Defrauding any customer;

E. Refusal to surrender any automobile to the owner thereof upon tender of

payment of the proper charges for towing and work done on the vehicle;

F. Having indulged in any unconscionable practice relating to the Business of
Automobile Salvage Repairer;

G. Willful failure to perform work contracted for;
H. Failure to comply with the safety standards of the industry; or
L Any misuse of a Certificate of Salvage Repair.

Section 9 Conduct of Cases

The Administrative Procedures Act and the rules of practice and procedure in
administrative hearings before the Department shall govern the procedures to be followed in all
cases pursuant to this Regulation.

Section 10 Subsequent Changes in the Regulation

Any changes in the Act which affect the content, language or intent of this Regulation,
will be deemed adopted by the Department on the date of implementation of the changes in the
Act.

Section 11 Severability

If any provision of the Regulation is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect other
provisions or applications of the Regulation.




Section 12 Effective Date

This Regulation and the amendments thereto shall be effective as indicated below, which
is twenty (20) days after the filing of the Regulation with the Office of the Secretary of State.

EFFECTIVE DATE: July 29, 1996
REFILED: December 19, 2001
AMENDED: December 13, 2004
AMENDED: May 31, 2007
AMENDED: INSERT




