
 

Page 1 of 13 

State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION 

Division of Commercial Licensing 
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-2 
Cranston, Rhode Island 02920 

 
Public Notice of Proposed Rule-Making 

 
Pursuant to the provisions of R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-38-1 et seq and 42-14-16, and in accordance 
with the Administrative Procedures Act Chapter 42-35 of the General Laws, the Department of 
Business Regulation hereby gives notice of its intent to amend Commercial Licensing Regulation 
4 - Motor Vehicle Body Repair.   
 
The purpose of this amendment is to clarify numerous provisions of the regulation as detailed in 
the Concise Statement posted with this notice, raise the annual license fee to $300 and increase 
the reinspection fee that automobile body shops may charge insurers. 
 
The proposed amended regulation and concise summary of non-technical amendments are 
available for public inspection at www.dbr.ri.gov, in person at Department of Business 
Regulation, 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, Rhode Island 02920, requested by email 
edwyer@dbr.ri.gov or by calling Elizabeth Kelleher Dwyer at (401) 462 9520. 
 
In the development of the proposed amendment consideration was given to:  (1) alternative 
approaches; (2) overlap or duplication with other statutory and regulatory provisions; and (3) 
significant economic impact on small business.  No alternative approach, duplication, or overlap 
was identified based upon available information. 
 
All interested parties are invited to submit written or oral comments concerning the proposed 
amendments by August 23, 2011 to Elizabeth Kelleher Dwyer, Department of Business 
Regulation, 1151 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, Rhode Island 02920, edwyer@dbr.ri.gov.  A public 
hearing to consider the proposed amendments shall be held on August 23, 2011 at 10:00 a.m. at 
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, Rhode Island 02920 at which time and place all persons 
interested therein will be heard.  The room is accessible to the disabled and interpreter services 
for the hearing impaired will be provided if requested 48 hours prior to the hearing.  Requests for 
this service can be made in writing or by calling (401) 462 9520 or TDD 711. 

 
Paul McGreevy 
Director, Department of Business Regulation 

 

http://www.dbr.ri.gov/
mailto:edwyer@dbr.ri.gov
mailto:edwyer@dbr.ri.gov
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State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION 

Division of Commercial Licensing 
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-2 
Cranston, Rhode Island 02920 

 
Concise Summary of Proposed Non-technical Amendments 

to 
Commercial Licensing Regulation Number 4 – Motor Vehicle Body Repair 

 
In accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, Section 42-35-3(a)(1) of the 

General Laws of Rhode Island, following is a concise summary of proposed non-technical 
amendments: 
 

1. Section 3 is proposed to be amended to add a definition of “consumer.” 
 

2. Section 4 is proposed to be amended to add restrictions on mobile units added to statute 
since the regulation was last amended; memorialize that paint systems and spray booths 
must comply with the requirement of the Fire Marshal; increase the licensing fee to $300; 
add the new requirements of Commercial Licensing Regulation 16(5)(A) to the 
application requirements; clarify the minimum requirements for equipment, apparatus 
and tools; clarify insurance requirements; provide for the possibility of on-site 
inspections and require the display of licenses. 

 
3. Section 5 is proposed to be amended to raise the reinspection rates charged by automobile 

body shops, allow for an automatic annual adjustment of the fee. 
 

4. Section 6 is proposed to be amended to incorporate the term “consumer” and to change 
the title of the form to that provided by statute. 

 
5. Section 7(E) is proposed to be deleted as the subject matter of that section is now 

included in Commercial Licensing Regulation 3.  A new section (E) has been added to 
reflect the requirements of R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-38-30. 

 
6. Section 8 is amended to incorporate the term consumer and add the work completion 

certification form and technician transcripts to the documents that must be maintained by 
licensees. 

 
7. Appendix A is proposed to be amended to clarify work completion certification form, 

incorporate “consumer”; add signature of the automobile body shop representative and 
rewrite the notice to consumers who do not have the vehicle repaired. 
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State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION  

Division of Commercial Licensing  
233 Richmond Street 1511 Pontiac Avenue  

ProvidenceCranston, RI 02903 02920  
  

Commercial Licensing Regulation 4 - Motor Vehicle Body Repair  
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Section 1 Authority  
 

This Regulation (the "Regulation") is promulgated pursuant to the authority granted in 
R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-38-1 et seq.  
 
Section 2 Purpose   
 

The purpose of this Regulation is to establish standards and procedures for the issuance 
of Motor Vehicle Body Licenses for Motor Vehicle Body Work and to generally assist the 
Department in carrying out the administration and enforcement of the terms and provisions of the 
Act so that the public interest may be effectively served.  
 
Section 3 Definitions    
 

When used in this Regulation, the following words, except as otherwise required by the 
context, shall have the following meaning:  
 
A. "Act" means R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-38-1 et seq., as amended.  
 
B. "Agent" means an individual or group of individuals authorized by another to act on his, 

her or its behalf.  
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C. "Applicant" means a Person filing an application for a Motor Vehicle Body License.    
 
D. “Consumer” means the person or entity whose vehicle is being or has been repaired. 
 
DE. "Department" means the Department of Business Regulation.   
 
EF. "Director" means the Director of the Department or his or her designee.   
 
FG. "Licensee" means a Person holding a Motor Vehicle Body License.   
 
GH. "Motor Vehicle" means any automobile, truck or other self-propelled vehicle of any type.   
 
HI. "Motor Vehicle Body" means that portion of the Motor Vehicle mounted on the chassis 

or frame or unibody, including fenders, bumpers, windshields, glass and similar 
components of motor vehicle bodies as distinguished from the chassis, seats, motor, 
transmission, air conditioning condenser, radiator and other accessories for propulsion 
and general running gear of motor vehicles.   

 
IJ. "Motor Vehicle Body License" means any type of License from the Department issued to 

a Person engaged in the business of Motor Vehicle Body Work.   
 
JK. "Motor Vehicle Body Work" means the act or acts of preparing, fixing, restoring, 

painting or putting together a Motor Vehicle Body, including repairing, replacing or 
installing of glass thereon, or the subcontracting of said work.  

 
KL. "Person" means any individual, partnership, corporation, limited liability company, sole 

proprietorship, or any other legal entity, however formed.   
 
Section 4 Licenses    
 
A. License Required. No Person may engage in the business of Motor Vehicle Body Work 
without first obtaining a Motor Vehicle Body License from the Department.  All Motor Vehicle 
Body Work must be performed at a fixed, licensed location.  Except for glass repair and 
installation, and paintless dent repairs, Motor Vehicle Body Work shall not be performed using 
mobile units.  The term of each Motor Vehicle Body License shall be for not more than three (3) 
years before a renewal application is required.   
 
B. Types of Motor Vehicle Body Licenses:  
 
The Department will issue four (4) types of Motor Vehicle Body License  
  
i)1. FULL COLLISION REPAIR LICENSE-  
 
This License permits a Licensee to perform all types of Motor Vehicle Body Work. In addition 
to completing the application process set forth in subsection (cC) below, all applicants for a Full 
Collision Repair License must submit proof of the following requirements:  
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a. Electrical and/or hydraulic pulling equipment;  
 
b. Current dimensional guides;  
  
c. Four (4) point clamping system to secure vehicle;  
 
d Equipment/gauges capable of measuring symmetrical and asymmetrical vehicles;  
 
e. Welding equipment to meet manufacturers’ requirements;  
 
f. A paint system or access to a paint system capable of producing original 

manufacturers’ requirements and a spray booth that conforms to the requirements 
of the State of Rhode Island Fire Marshal; and  

 
g. Parking in compliance with local laws and regulations to perform the repair work.   

 
(ii2) LIMITED HEAVY TRUCK AND EQUIPMENT LICENSE-  
 
This License permits the refinishing and body repair of trucks over the GVW (gross vehicle 
weight) of 24,000 pounds, cranes, trailers or other equipment.  In addition to completing the 
application process set forth in subsection (c) below, applicants must submit proof of the 
following requirements:  
 

a.  Parking in compliance with local laws and regulations  to perform the repair 
work; and  

 
b. Welding equipment to meet manufacturers requirements.  
 
c. A paint system or access to a paint system capable of producing original 

manufacturers’ requirement; and a spray booth that conforms to the requirements 
of the State of Rhode Island Fire Marshal. 

 
(iii3) LIMITED PAINT, RESTORATION AND CUSTOMIZATION LICENSE-  
 
This License permits restoration or customization of automobiles but not collision damaged 
vehicles.  In addition to completing the application process set forth in subsection (cC) below, 
the applicant must submit proof of the following requirements:  
 

a. Parking in compliance with local laws and regulations to perform the repair work; 
and  

 
b. Welding equipment to meet manufacturers’ requirements.  
 
c. A paint system or access to a paint system capable of producing original 

manufacturers’ requirement; and a spray booth that conforms to the requirements 
of the State of Rhode Island Fire Marshal. 
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(iv4) SPECIAL USE LICENSE-  
 
This License permits limited, specially identified activities within the definition of Motor 
Vehicle Body Work as previously approved by the Departmentthat are not consistent with the 
definitions set forth in Section 4(B)(1), (2) and (3).  In addition to completing the application 
process requirement set forth in subsection 3(cC) below, the Department will inform the 
applicant of other requirements necessary to obtain a Special Use License.  
 
(vC) Application Requirements for all Motor Vehicle Body Licenses listed in Section 4(B)(1-4).  
Every Applicant for a Motor Vehicle Body License or renewal of an existing Motor Vehicle 
Body License must submit to the Department the following:   
  

a1.  the completed application form adopted by the Department;  
 
b2. the License fee of one three hundred fifty dollars ($ 150300.00) for each year the 

Motor Vehicle Body License is to be issued;   
 
c3. certificate of financial responsibility pursuant to the requirements of Section 4(E);   
 
d4. evidence of compliance with state and local zoning, fire, health and safety laws 

and regulations;   
 
e5. a designation of the person and address where the Department may send notices; 

and  
 
f6. an EPA number.; and 
 
7. evidence of technician certification in conformance with the requirements of 

Commercial Licensing Regulation 16, Section 5(A). (Effective January 1, 2012)    
  

CD. Minimum Value. Every Licensee must maintain a service repair shop and/or vehicles and 
related tools and equipment collectively having a minimum value of $10,000 at the time of the 
issuance and/or renewal of the Motor Vehicle Body License as appraised and valued by the 
Department or its duly authorized representative. The Department, at its discretion, may rely on 
the representations of Applicant with regard to said value or waive or amend this requirement for 
good cause. equipment, apparatus, and tools, as described in Section 4(B)1(a-g), Section 
4(B)(2)(a-c) and Section 4(B)(3)(a-c), as applicable, in order to meet the minimum standards 
required for issuance and renewal of the license. 
 
DE. Evidence of Financial Responsibility. Each Applicant shall furnish to the Director and 
maintain during the terms of the Motor Vehicle Body License a certificate of insurance issued by 
an insurance company licensed to transact business in this state showing that the Applicant has a 
policy insuring him, her or it against liability for injury to persons and damage to property which 
may be caused by the operation of the business. Such policy shall provide for liability against 
bodily injury and property damage liability in the sum of not less than three hundred thousand 
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($300,000) per person and six hundred thousand ($600,000) per occurrence; and liability for 
property damage of not less than three hundred thousand ($300,000) per occurrence and 
garagekeepers liability for damage to customer property in the amount of not less than one 
hundred thousand ($100,000) per occurrence.   
 
Such insurance shall be non-cancelable by either party to the contract, except with five (5) days 
prior written notice to the Department furnished by the Licensee. Licensee shall also request the 
insurance company that issued the policy to send written notice to the Department at least five 
(5) days prior to any cancellation of the contract. Cancellation shall be effective not sooner than 
five (5) days after receipt of said notice by the Department from the Licensee or insurance 
company, whichever is earlier.  
 
EF. Space Requirements. Except as otherwise provided below, Licensees must conduct the 
Motor Vehicle Body Work at a fixed location with at least 4000 square feet of heated ground 
level floor space, with a specific location and common boundaries where Motor Vehicles may be 
serviced. Basements, second floors and any upper or lower may not be considered in computing 
the required minimum amount of floor space.     
  
The provisions of this subsection E F do not apply to any motor vehicle body shop in existence 
and having a valid License as of the date of this regulation or any transfer thereof.  
  
Upon written request, the Department may waive the minimum space requirements in part or in 
whole upon a written finding by the Department that there will be minimal or no adverse effect 
to the public.   
  
G. On Site Inspection.  Before issuing a License a field representative of the Department 
may make an on site inspection of the Applicant’s business premises. 
 
H. Display of Licenses.  Every Licensee must conspicuously display the Motor Vehicle 
Body license issued by the Department at the location listed on the license.  The license number 
must appear on all business communications, estimates, signs, business cards, and other written 
documentation related to that business. 
 
FI. Denial, Suspension, Revocation. The Department may deny an application for a Motor 
Vehicle Body License or revoke or suspend a Motor Vehicle Body License if it determines that 
an employee or manager or owner of an Applicant or Licensee has engaged in any the following 
activities so that the Applicant or Licensee is unfit to do business and/or it impacts the 
Applicant’s or Licensee’s financial responsibility and/or it impacts the Applicant’s or Licensee’s 
business integrity:  

  
(i) said individual has been convicted of any criminal felony involving dishonesty, 

breach of trust, forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses, 
bribery, larceny, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, fraud, false dealing or any 
similar offense(s) or has had a Motor Vehicle Body License revoked or suspended 
or an application for a Motor Vehicle Body License denied or any other License 
issued by this State revoked or suspended or an application for such denied.  
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(ii) said individual has performed work outside the scope of  their License 

classification.  
 

Section 5 Reinspection   
 

In accordance with Tthe provisions of R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-10.1-9, are applicable to 
Licensees. Therefore, upon written or verbal request by an insurance company to reinspect a 
Motor Vehicle, the Licensee shall allow representatives of the insurance company to reinspect 
the Motor Vehicle after the Motor Vehicle Body Work has been completed.   
  
After receipt of a request from an insurance company to reinspect a Motor Vehicle, the 
Licensee shall inform the insurance company representative who requested reinspection when 
the Motor Vehicle Body Work has been completed and shall make the Motor Vehicle available 
for reinspection no later than the following business day unless the insurance company 
representative agrees to another time. Licensees may charge a fee up to forty two dollars and 
ninety cents ($42.90)thirty eight dollars and ten cents ($38.10) per hour during the calendar 
year 2005 2011 (to commence after the effective date of this regulation) for the use of testing 
equipment, if such testing equipment is necessary to perform the reinspection.  This fee shall be 
automatically increased for each successive calendar year as delineated below: by three percent 
(3%) unless a review by the Department of the Consumer Price Index issued by the U.S. 
Department of Labor (CPI) on calendar year basis indicates a negative or positive change of 
one percent (1%) from the prior year's CPI.   

 
2006: Licensees may charge a fee up to thirty nine dollars and twenty-five cents ($39.25) per 
hour;  
2007: Licensees may charge a fee up to forty dollars and forty cents ($40.40) per hour;  
2008: Licensees may charge a fee up to forty one dollars and sixty-five cents ($41.65) per hour;  
2009: Licensees may charge a fee up to forty two dollars and ninety cents ($42.90) per hour;  
  
The above fees reflect an approximate three percent (3%) prospective annual increase based on 
an evaluation of the year-end Consumer Price Index which was adjusted by the Department for 
any inconsistent aberrations.    
  
Thereafter, if necessary, the Director may review said fee and adjust as appropriate based on the 
facts and evidence presented.  
  
Section 6 Work Completion Certification Form   
  
Every Licensee, ClaimantConsumer, and insurance company shall complete and execute the 
applicable section of the form entitled "Work Completion Certification of Automobile 
RepairsForm" which is attached hereto as Appendix A.  After completing and executing Part I 
Section 1 of said form, the Insurer shall forward the Certification of Automobile Repairs form to 
the Claimant Consumer who shall complete and execute Part Section 3 thereof and return it to 
the Insurer.  The Insurer shall then forward said forms to the Licensee who shall complete and 
execute Part Section 2 of said form and then return it to the Insurer.    



 

Page 9 of 13 

 
Section 7 Miscellaneous    
 
A. Change of Address. Written notice shall be given to the Department by each Licensee 
within five (5) days of any change in mailing or business address, or any other change in any 
information reported on the most recent application   
  
B. License. A Motor Vehicle Body License shall be granted only to the Applicant. The 
Motor Vehicle Body License is not subject to transfer, assignment or leasing to another Person 
without prior application to, and approval from the Department.   
  
C. Licensee Ceases Operations. When a Licensee ceases operating the business of Motor 
Vehicle Body Work, the Licensee must return the original Motor Vehicle Body License to the 
Department within fifteen (15) days thereof.   
  
D. After Market Parts. In accordance with Tthe provisions of R.I. Gen. Laws § 27-10.2-1 et 
seq. are applicable to Licensees. Therefore, Licensees shall not use after market parts in Motor 
Vehicle Body Work on any Motor Vehicle less than thirty (30) months beyond the date of 
manufacture without the written consent of the Person who owns the Motor Vehicle as required 
by this statute.  
 
E. In accordance with the provisions of R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-38-30 all auto body repair 
facilities must post a sign in a conspicuous location in boldfaced typed letters at least two (2) 
inches high that states: 
 

PURSUANT TO RHODE ISLAND LAW, THE CONSUMER HAS THE RIGHT 
TO CHOOSE THE REPAIR FACILITY TO COMPLETE REPAIRS TO A 
MOTOR VEHICLE; AND AN INSURANCE COMPANY MAY NOT 
INTERFERE WITH THE CONSUMER'S CHOICE OF REPAIRER.  

E. Insurance Inspections and Appraisals. Licensees shall permit insurance company 
representatives to inspect Motor Vehicles at any time for the purpose of taking photographs and 
for checking vehicle identification numbers. In addition, Licensees shall permit insurance 
company representatives, with or without an appointment, to make an appraisal inspection of a 
Motor Vehicle as soon as practically possible but, in any event, not later than three (3) days 
following the insurance company representative's written or oral request to inspect.   
 
Section 8  Records of Transactions to be Maintained  
  
A. Licensees must maintain at a minimum the following information in the files for each 
motor vehicle repaired for a two (2) year period:  
  

(i) Customer’s Consumer’s name;  
 
(ii) Customer’s Consumer’s address;  
 
(iii) Vehicle make, model and year;  
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(iv) Vehicle VIN (Vehicle Identification Number);  
 
(v) Written authorization from the customer consumer to repair the vehicle;  
 
(vi) All invoices and receipts in connection with the repairs made; and  
 
(vii) the final repair bill which contains itemized listings of manufactured parts, used 

parts and generic parts used in the repair; and 
 
(viii) A completed and fully executed work completion certification form, if such a 

form has been received by the licensee  
 

B. All Files kept in accordance with this regulation must be maintained at the address at 
which the premises is Licensed and available for inspection during regular business hours.  
 
Section 9 Complaints/Hearing   
  
A. Complaints. All complaints from consumers or law enforcement officials against 
Licensees or other Persons for violations of this Regulation or the Act shall may be investigated 
by the Department. In furtherance thereof, the Department shall may notify the Licensee or 
Person in writing of the Department's receipt of the complaint, enclosing a copy thereof. The 
Licensee or Person shall within ten (10) days from the date of the Department's letter to the 
Licensee file with the Department a written answer to the complaint. The Department shall 
review the answer andmay submit a copy thereof to the complainant for further response, if 
necessary. Upon receipt of the response, the Department will then evaluate the complaint and 
response thereto and the matter will be handled in compliance with the Department's applicable 
procedures and regulations for such matters. The Department may, upon its own motion, with or 
without a complaint, notice a hearing for the purposes of further investigating whether to 
sanction a Licensee or other Person.   
  
B. Hearings. The notice for and conduct of any hearings held pursuant to this Regulation or 
the Act shall be governed by the applicable provisions of the Act, the Department's rules and 
regulations for the conduct of such hearings and the provisions of the Rhode Island 
Administrative Procedures Act.  
  
Section 10 Penalties for Violations   
  
Any Licensee or other Person who fails to comply with the provisions of this Regulation or the 
provisions of the Act may be subject to any of the penalties, administrative, civil and criminal, as 
outlined in the Act.   
  
Section 11 Severability    
 
If this Regulation or the application thereof to any Person or circumstance is held to be invalid, 
such invalidity shall not effect other provisions or application of this Regulation which can be 
given effect without the invalid provision or application, and to this end the provisions are 
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declared to be severable.   
 
Section 12 Effective Date   
  
This Regulation shall become effective on twenty (20) days from the date of filing as indicated 
below.  
  
EFFECTIVE DATE:  April 8, 1999  
REFILED:   December 19, 2001   
AMENDED:   December 16, 2002  
AMENDED:   December 13, 2004  
AMENDED   October 12, 2005  
AMENDED: September    , 2011 
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Appendix A 
  

WORK COMPLETION CERTIFICATION OF AUTOMOBILE REPAIRSFORM 
  

R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-38-1 et seq.28 requires that the following Work Completion cCertification 
Form be completed and signed. The law requires submission of the repair invoice whenever 
repairs are made, and although the law does not mandate how or if the automobile is repaired, it 
does mandate the completion of this form and its return to the insurer. The return of this form is 
not a condition of payment, and payment shall not be withheld for failure to complete this form. 
A return envelope has been furnished for your convenience. R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-38-29 requires 
that each repair bill must contain an itemized listing of the manufactured parts, used parts, and 
generic parts installed by the Automobile Body Shop in the repair of the vehicle and the repair 
bill must be furnished to the consumer when the automobile has been repaired. 
****************************************************************************** 

Section 1  
TO BE COMPLETED BY THE INSURER  

 
Claimant 
Consumer Name: 

 Claim Number:  

Address:  Policy Number:  
  Date of Accident:  
Name of Insurer:    
Address:    
    
 
I, _____________________, representing ______________________, [insert name of insurance 
company] have verified the automobile body shop listed below has a valid automobile body shop 
License in accordance with existing laws.  
 
Date: ________________  
 
Signature of insurance company representative:_________________________________  
 ***********************************************************************  

Section 2 
TO BE COMPLETED BY THE AUTOMOBILE BODY SHOP  

  
 I, _____________________, a representative of ____________________automobile body shop, 
located at ___________________________, holding auto body License number____________ 
do certify, under penalties of perjury that I have made the repairs listed on the attached repair bill 
to the automobile owned by _______________________________________.  
  
 
Date: _______   
Signature of automobile body shop representative:_________________________________ 
 
After signing this form return it to [insert name and contact information for insurer.] 
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 .***********************************************************************  
Section 3    

TO BE COMPLETED BY THE CLAIMANT CONSUMER  
  

I, ______________________, certify, under penalties of perjury, that: CHECK (a) OR (b) OR 
(c). YOU MUST ALSO CHECK (d) IF DIRECT PAYMENT TO THE REPAIRER IS 
DESIRED.  
 
(a)________ I have not had any repairs made to my automobile as a result of the accident on  

______________; OR   
 
(b)______ All the repairs allowed by the insurer have been repaired by the automobile body 

shop, and I have paid $ ___ (may be $0.) to the automobile body shop, which 
amount is the deductible amount applicable to this accident; OR    

 
(c)______ My automobile has been repaired according to the attached repair bill and I have 

paid $ ___ (may be $0.) to my automobile body shop.    
 
(d)______ I hereby authorize payment of $ _____ directly to the auto body shop identified in 

Part 2.   
  

IMPORTANT NOTICE TO CLAIMANT   CONSUMER    
 

IF YOU ARE A FIRST PARTY INSURED AND IF YOU DO NOT REPAIR ALL OR PART 
OF THE DAMAGES ALLOWED BY THE INSURER, AND YOU HAVE A SUBSEQUENT 
LOSS, THE INSURER MAY, TO THE EXTENT RELEVANT, DEDUCT FOR SUCH ITEM 
(S) AS PREVIOUS DAMAGE IN SETTLINGMAY EFFECT THE SETTLEMENT OF THE 
SUBSEQUENT LOSS. THEREFORE, IF AFTER SIGNING THIS CERTIFICATION, YOU 
REPAIR THE DAMAGE, YOU SHOULD NOTIFY THE INSURER IMMEDIATELY. THE 
INSURER MAY AT THAT TIME ELECT TO INSPECT YOUR AUTOMOBILE. WHETHER 
YOU ARE A FIRST PARTY INSURED OR NOT NO INSURER OR ITS REPRESENTATIVE 
MAY MAKE PAYMENT ON A CLAIM TO AN CLAIMANT OR AUTOMOBILE BODY 
SHOP IF REPAIRS ARE MADE AT A FACILITY THE SHOP IS REQUIRED TO BE BUT IS 
NOT LICENSED IN ACCORDANCE WITH R.I. GEN. LAWS § 5-38-1 et seq  
 
Date: ____________  Signature of Claimant Consumer __________________________  
 
After signing this form return it to [insert name and contact information for insurer] 
______________________________________________________________________________  
  
NOTICE: CLAIMANT MUST COMPLETE FORM AND RETURN TO INSURER AS  
LISTED IN SECTION 1.   
  
UPON RECEIPT, THE INSURER SHALL THEN FORWARD SAID FORM TO THE  
AUTOMOBILE BODY SHOP TO COMPLETE SECTION 2.  
 SAID SHOP SHALL THEN COMPLETE AND RETURN SAID FORM TO INSURER.  
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