
State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION 

Commercial Licensing Division 
1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 68-69 

Cranston, Rhode Island 02920 
 

Public Notice of Proposed Rule-Making 
 

Pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 42-35 of the 
General Laws, the Department of Business Regulation hereby gives notice of its intent to 
amend Commercial Licensing Regulation 10 Real Estate Appraisers. 
 
The purpose of this amendment is to repeal the $25.00 fee for duplicate licenses and the 
$10.00 record modification fee. 
 
The proposed amended regulation and concise summary of non-technical amendments 
are available for public inspection at www.dbr.ri.gov, in person at Department of 
Business Regulation, 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, Rhode Island 02920, or by 
emailing jenna.algee@dbr.ri.gov  or by calling Jenna Algee, Esq. at (401) 462 9593. 
 
In the development of the proposed amendment consideration was given to:  (1) 
alternative approaches; (2) overlap or duplication with other statutory and regulatory 
provisions; and (3) significant economic impact on small business.  No alternative 
approach, duplication, or overlap was identified based upon available information. 
 
All interested parties are invited to submit written or oral comments concerning the 
proposed regulations by May 6, 2015, to Jenna Algee, Esq., Department of Business 
Regulation, 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 68-1, Cranston, RI 02920, (401) 462 9593, 
jenna.algee@dbr.ri.gov.  A public hearing to consider the proposed amendment shall be 
held on May 6, 2015 at 9:30 a.m., at 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Cranston, Rhode Island 
02920 at which time and place all persons interested therein will be heard.   
 
All are welcome at the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation ("DBR").  If 
any reasonable accommodation is needed to ensure equal access, service or participation, 
please contact DBR at 401-462-9551, RI Relay at 7-1-1, or email 
directorofficeinquiry@dbr.ri.gov at least three (3) business days prior to the hearing. 
 

Macky McCleary 
Director, Department of Business Regulation 

 
 
Date posted: March 6, 2015 
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State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 
DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION 

Commercial Licensing Division 
1511 Pontiac Avenue 

Buildings 68-69 
Cranston, Rhode Island 02920 

 
 

Concise Summary of Proposed Non-Technical Changes 
 

In accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, Section 42-35-3(a)(1) of the 
General Laws of Rhode Island, the following is a concise summary of proposed non-technical 
changes to Commercial Licensing Regulation 10 Real Estate Appraisers:  the amendment would 
delete the provisions providing for duplicate licensing fees and record modification fees because 
licensees can now print duplicates on the e-licensing system for free as well as update their 
information online for free. 
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SECTION 1          INTRODUCTION 
 
(A) The purpose of this regulation is to promote the general welfare of the citizens of Rhode 

Island by the implementation of R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-20.7-1, et seq., and R.I. Gen. Laws § 
42-35-3 so that the provisions thereunder may be best effectuated and the public interest 
be most effectively served.  

 
(B) As of January 1, 2007, the State of Rhode Island became a "mandatory state" that 

requires licensure or certification as an appraiser pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-20.7-1, 
et seq., for those persons who issue opinions or analyses of value or use relating to real 
property in this state. This licensing requirement applies to all opinions or analyses of 
real estate value or use, whether in the form of a written appraisal, consultant's report, or 
expert testimony before a court or an administrative body (such as a local zoning board).  

 
(C) Notwithstanding the mandatory licensure requirement, any person who holds a real estate 

broker or salesperson's license may provide, in the ordinary course of business, a written 
or oral opinion of value of real estate solely for the purposes of a prospective listing, 
purchase, sale, or business valuation but may not refer to such an opinion of value as an 
appraisal.  

 
(D) The Rhode Island Real Estate Appraisers Board and the Rhode Island Department of 

Business Regulation shall utilize the following rules, regulations, and standards for the 
licensing, certification, and recertification of real estate appraisers in the State of Rhode 
Island.  

 
SECTION 2          DEFINITIONS 
 
(A)  "Department" shall mean the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation.  
 
(B)  "Board" shall mean the Real Estate Appraisers Board established pursuant to R.I. Gen. 

Laws § 5-20.7-1, et seq. 
 
(C) "Analysis" shall mean the examination or study of real estate or real property other than 

an estimate of value using an orderly process by which the problem is defined, the work 
necessary to solve the problem is planned, and the data involved are acquired, classified, 
analyzed, and interpreted into a final opinion or conclusion. 

 
(D) "Valuation" shall mean a written or oral estimate of the value of Real Estate or Real 

Property. 
 
(E)  "Appraisal" or "Real Estate Appraisal" shall mean a written or oral analysis, opinion 

and/or conclusion relating to the nature, quality, value and/or utility of specified interests 
in, or aspects of, Real Estate. An appraisal may be classified by subject matter into either 
a Valuation or an Analysis as defined in this section. 

 
(F)  "Appraisal Process" shall mean a systematic Analysis of the factors that bear upon the 

value or utility of real estate. 
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(G)  "Appraisal Review" shall mean the act or process of developing and communicating an 

opinion about the quality of another appraiser’s work by a Rhode Island licensed or 
certified appraiser. 

 
(H)  "Appraisal Foundation" shall refer to the not-for-profit educational organization created 

by the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989, 12 U.S.C. 
§ 1811, as amended.(FIRREA). The mission of The Appraisal Foundation is to promote 
professionalism in appraising. This is accomplished primarily through the work of two 
independent Boards, the Appraisal Standards Board (“ASB”) and the Appraiser 
Qualifications Board (“AQB”). The AQB is responsible for the generally recognized 
performance standards of the appraisal profession, the Uniform Standards of Professional 
Appraisal Practice (“USPAP”).  

 
(I)  "Appraisal Subcommittee" shall mean the body within the Federal Financial Institutions 

Examination Council as established by FIRREA. 
 
(J)  "AQB Real Property Qualification Criteria" shall mean the criteria promulgated by the 

AQB of the Appraisal Foundation, as amended and supplemented, that establish the 
experience, pre-licensing, and continuing education criteria for real estate appraisal 
licensure and certification. The Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria are 
incorporated herein by reference as part of this regulation. 

 
(K) "Core Education" or "Core Curriculum" or "Core Courses" shall mean qualifying 

education courses covering specified subject matters as listed in the current AQB Real 
Property Qualification Criteria for each appraiser classification.   

 
(L) "USPAP" shall mean the standards set forth in the Uniform Standards of Professional 

Appraisal Practice as promulgated by the Appraisal Standards Board of the Appraisal 
Foundation. 

 
(M)    “Disciplinary action” shall mean the corrective or punitive action taken by the Department 

or the Board involving any appraiser, whether formal or informal, consensual or 
involuntary, resulting in any of the following:  revocation or suspension of credential, 
written consent agreements or orders, administrative penalties or fines, probation, formal 
reprimand notices or any other restriction on the use of a credential, or voluntary 
surrender in lieu of disciplinary action.   
 

(N) "Certified Appraisal" shall mean an appraisal or appraisal report given or signed and 
certified as such by a state certified real estate appraiser or state licensed real estate 
appraiser. 

 
(O) "Residential Property Appraisal" shall mean an appraisal of property that is used for non-

complex single or multi-family dwellings of 1-4 units when a net income capitalization 
analysis is not required by the terms of the assignment and is consistent with applicable 
federal requirements and guidelines. 

 



Commercial Licensing Regulation 10 – Real Estate Appraisers 
 
 

 Page 4 of 19 

(P)  "Certified General Real Estate Appraiser" shall mean a person qualified to appraise all 
types of real property without transaction value limitation. 

 
(Q) "Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser" shall mean a person qualified to appraise 

non-complex single or multi-family dwellings of one to four (1-4) units having no 
maximum transaction value, or property used for complex one to four (1-4) residential 
units having a transaction value of less than two hundred fifty thousand dollars 
($250,000). 

 
(R)  "Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser" shall mean a person qualified to appraise 

non-complex, one to four (1-4) residential units having a transaction value of less than 
one million dollars ($1,000,000) and complex, one to four (1-4) residential units having a 
transaction value of less than two hundred fifty thousand dollars ($250,000). 

 
(S) "Residential property" shall mean property that is used for non-complex, single or multi-

family dwellings of one to four (1-4) units having no minimum transaction value, or 
property used for complex, one to four (1-4) residential units having a transaction value 
of less than two hundred fifty thousand dollars ($250,000). 

 
(T) "Complex" shall mean those one to four family residential property appraisals where the 

property to be appraised, the form of ownership, or the market conditions are atypical. 
 
(U) "Trainee" shall mean a person who has met the educational requirements of the Appraiser 

Qualifications Board of the Appraisal Foundation and who has been issued a trainee 
license to complete the experience requirement to become a Licensed or Certified Real 
Estate Appraiser working under the direct supervision of a certified appraiser as set forth 
in Section 5 of these regulation. 

 
(V)  "Direct supervision" shall mean: (i) personally reviewing the work product of the trainee; 

(ii) approving, signing, and accepting responsibility for each appraisal report that 
includes the trainee’s work product and certifying that such reports have been 
independently and impartially prepared in compliance with USPAP, these rules, and 
applicable statutory standards; and (iii) indicating, within the certification section of the 
appraisal report, the name of the trainee providing significant real property appraisal 
assistance. For purposes of this subparagraph, "significant" means the exercise of 
appraisal knowledge and training and does not mean clerical or fact gathering tasks. 

 
(W)  "Part Time" shall mean working an average of less than thirty-five (35) hours per week in 

the appraisal profession. 
 
(X)  "Real Estate" shall mean an identified parcel or tract of land, including improvements, if 

any. 
 
(Y)  "Real Estate Educator" shall mean a person engaged in and otherwise qualified to teach 

the real estate appraisal process or such other related segments of the real estate industry 
as the Board and the Department may approve. 
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(Z)  "Real Property" shall mean one or more defined interests, benefits, and rights inherent in 
the ownership of real estate. 

  
SECTION 3        BOARD ADMINISTRATION 
 
(A)  Election of Officers. The Board shall elect, at a minimum, a Chairperson, Vice- 

Chairperson and Secretary from its membership. The Board may elect such other officers, 
as it deems appropriate. The term of office for each officer shall be one (1) year. 

 
(B)  Duties of Chairperson. The Chairperson of the Board shall represent the Board before any 

other governmental agency, board, or function, although he or she may delegate this 
responsibility to another Board member when necessary. The Chairperson shall direct the 
activities of the Board.  

 
(C)  Meetings. The Board shall meet not less than once each month with all meetings to be 

conducted at the Department unless otherwise specified. At its January meeting, the 
Board shall establish a regular schedule for such meetings. The Chairperson may, upon 
his or her own motion, call for such additional meetings, as he or she shall deem 
necessary or appropriate. 

 
(D)  Routine Meeting Notices. Pursuant to the requirements of the Rhode Island Open 

Meetings Act (R.I. Gen. Laws § 42-46-1, et seq.), the Secretary of the Board shall give 
written public notice of meetings of the Board by posting or causing to be posted written 
notice of such meeting not less than 48 hours prior to the scheduled time of such meeting. 
The written notice shall be posted in the lobby of the Department and at the Rhode Island 
State House and shall, at a minimum, state the time, date, and place of the meeting and a 
statement of the nature of the business to be discussed. All such meeting notices shall be 
mailed to the members of the Board not less than seven (7) days prior to the scheduled 
date of such meeting except that less notice may be given upon a showing of good cause. 
Each member of the Board shall be responsible for providing the Department with an 
updated and accurate mailing address for the purpose of receiving such notices. 

 
(E)  Emergency Meeting. In the event that it shall be necessary to conduct an emergency 

meeting of the Board, such a meeting may be called upon the affirmative vote of a 
majority of the members of the Board. A meeting notice and agenda shall be posted as 
soon as practicable and, upon meeting, the Board shall confirm the need for the meeting 
by majority vote and state for the record why the matter must be addressed in less than 
forty-eight (48) hours, the Board shall only consider the issue or issues, which created the 
need for the emergency meeting.  

 
(F)  Quorum. A quorum of the Board shall be a majority of the voting members of the Board 

provided however, that at least three (3) of those members comprising the quorum shall 
be real estate appraisers. 

 
(G)  Minutes of the Meeting. The Secretary of the Board or a representative of the Department 

shall keep, or cause to be kept, written minutes of all meetings of the Board. The 
publication and preparation of the minutes shall at all times be in accordance with the 
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provisions of R.I. Gen. Laws §§ 42-46-7(4) (b) and (c). The minutes shall include, but not 
be limited to: 

 
 (1) The time, date, and place of the meeting; 
 
 (2)  The names of the members of the Board in attendance at the meeting; 
 
 (3) A voting record of Board members of any vote taken; and 
 
 (4)  Any other information relevant to the business of the Board and any information 

that any member of the Board requests to be included or reflected in the minutes. 
 
(H)  Record Keeping. The Department shall maintain all records necessary and proper to 

allow the Board to fulfill its obligations.  
 
(I)  Public Access. Access to any records of the Board or the Department shall be governed 

by the provisions of the Access to Public Records Act, R.I. Gen. Laws § 38-2-1, et seq.  
 
(J)  FFIEC List of Appraisers. The Board and Department shall approve a list of the names of 

individuals in good standing holding state licenses or certificates. The Department shall 
submit the list to the Appraisal Subcommittee of the Federal Financial Institutions 
Examination Council. 

 
SECTION 4          FEES AND CHARGES 
 
(A)  Establishment of Fees and Charges. The Board shall advise the Department as to such 

fees and charges it recommends be assessed to any person applying for licensing or 
certification as a Real Estate Appraiser. The Director of the Department must approve all 
fees and charges. All fees and charges shall be nonrefundable. The Department will not 
prorate fees. 

 
(B)  Application Fees. 
 
 Original Resident Application Fee:    $200 
 Non-resident Non-Reciprocal Application Fee:  $250 
 Non-resident Reciprocal Application Fee:   $200 
 
(C)  Examination Fees. 
 
 Original Examination:  As Prescribed by Pre-Approved Testing Service 
 Re-Examination:   As Prescribed by Pre-Approved Testing Service 
 
(D)  License/Certification Fees. 
 
 Original License/Certification (per year):   $200 
 Renewal License/Certification (per year):   $200 
 Reciprocal License/Certification (per year):   $200 
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 Temporary Practice Permit/Certificate (6 mos.):  $ 200   
 National Registry Fees (per year)   $ 40 
 
(E)  Miscellaneous Fees. 
 
 Records Modifications:     $10 
 Duplicate Certification:     $25 
 Certificate of Licensure:     $10 
 Reinstatement Fee:      $30 
 Education Submission Fee:     $25 
 
SECTION 5        FOUR CLASSIFICATIONS OF LICENSURE 
 
(A) In ascending order of education and experience, the four classifications of licensure are:  
 

(1) Trainee; 
 

(2) Licensed Residential Real Estate Appraiser; 
 

(3) Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser; and 
 

(4) Certified General Real Estate Appraiser.  
 
(B) To obtain licensure as a licensed, certified residential, or certified general appraiser, an 

applicant must satisfy the educational, experience, and examination requirements for the 
desired classification as set forth in the "Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria" 
and described in Section 8 below.  

 
SECTION 6        CERTIFICATION OR LICENSURE REQUIRED 
 
No person shall provide an analysis, opinion, or conclusion that relates to the nature, quality, 
value or utility of identified real estate as a consultant, expert witness, or otherwise, unless duly 
licensed or certified as an appraiser pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-20.7-1, et seq.  
 
SECTION 7        TERM OF LICENSES/RENEWAL 
 
(A) Every certificate or license issued pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-20.7-1, et seq., shall be 

for a term of two (2) years from the date of issuance. The expiration date of the certificate 
or license shall appear on the certificate or license. No other notice of its expiration need 
be given to the holder thereof.  

 
(B) Every person certified or licensed pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-20.7-1, et seq., who 

desires to renew the certification or license shall apply for the renewal of the license or 
certification upon a form to be furnished by the Department, which form shall contain 
whatever information the Department requires. Any renewal of a certification or license 
shall be subject to the same provisions and requirements covering issuance, suspension, 
and revocation of any certification or license as originally issued.  
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(C) Any person who otherwise satisfies the renewal requirements for a license or certification 

may renew a license or certification within one (1) year after its expiration date thereof 
for a reinstatement fee of thirty ($30) dollars, in addition to the required renewal fee.  

 
(D) Any person seeking to reinstate a license after expiration must affirm by affidavit that he 

or she has not engaged in any unlicensed real estate appraisal activity since the expiration 
of the license.  

 
(E) If a person has engaged in unlicensed real estate appraisal activity pursuant to R.I. Gen. 

Laws § 5-20.7-1 et seq., the person must file an affidavit with the Department listing all 
such unlicensed activity. The Department shall review the affidavit submitted and may 
either levy a sanction upon a determination that the license may be reinstated or decide 
not to reinstate the license. 

 
SECTION 8          QUALIFYING CRITERIA FOR LICENSING AND CERTIFICATION 
 
(A) Criteria Applicable to all Appraiser Classifications. 
 
 (1)  Qualifying Experience Requirements. 
 

(a) For the experience requirements set forth below, all persons applying for 
an upgrade to a higher license classification shall submit a log evidencing 
his or her appraisal experience on a form provided by the Department. The 
must be signed by the applicant, and shall include the following 
information for each appraisal assignment:  

 
(i) Date of report; 
 
(ii) Address of appraised property; 
 
(iii) Type of property; 
 
(iv) Description of work performed by the applicant; 
 
(v) Scope of supervising appraiser's review; 
 
(vi) Scope of supervising appraiser's supervision; and 
 
(vii) Number of actual work hours by the applicant on the assignment;  

 
(b) Adequate written reports or file memoranda shall support all experience. 

Each applicant shall furnish, under oath, a detailed listing of the real estate 
appraisal reports or file memoranda for each year for which the applicant 
claims experience. Upon request, the applicant shall make available to the 
Board or the Director of the Department a sample of appraisal reports that 
the applicant has prepared in the course of his or her practice. 
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(c) Appraisal experience shall be of the type for which the applicant is 

seeking a license or certification. The Appraisal Process must have been 
utilized in order for appraisal experience to be applied toward the requisite 
experience in the AQB Real Property Qualification Criteria. The work 
claimed in the application for experience credit shall comply with USPAP, 
as promulgated by the Appraisal Foundation at the time the applicant 
prepared the appraisals, and/or any applicable federal requirements. 

 
(d) A year of real estate appraisal experience is defined in terms of hours 

within a twelve (12) month period. Hours may be treated as cumulative in 
order to achieve the necessary hours of appraisal experience. 

 
(e) All licensees are required to demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Board a 

level of understanding of the complete Appraisal Process. Any applicant 
who falsely claims experience may be subject to denial of his or her 
application or suspension or revocation of an existing license. A 
comparable market analysis typically performed by either a licensed real 
estate broker or salesperson may be awarded experience credit when he or 
she prepared the analysis in conformity with USPAP, and the applicant 
can demonstrate that he or she utilizes and understands the Appraisal 
Process.  

 
(2)  Qualifying Core Education Requirements. 
 

(a) All applicants for licensure as a licensed, certified residential, or certified 
general appraiser shall submit to the Department official documentation 
that he or she successfully completed the core education requirements for 
that license or certification as established by the "Real Property Appraiser 
Qualification Criteria," promulgated by the AQB of the Appraisal 
Foundation, as amended and supplemented, which are incorporated herein 
by reference as part of this regulation. 

 
(b) No core course of less than fifteen (15) hours and no core course in which 

the applicant did not pass an examination shall be credited toward 
satisfying the minimum core education requirements to become licensed 
and/or certified. All qualifying education must be completed within the 
five (5) year period prior to the date of submission of an application. 

 
(c) All core courses shall be taught by a duly-licensed real estate school 

pursuant to the provisions of R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-20.5-19, or a nationally 
recognized appraisal organization, college, university or other school pre-
approved by the AQB, or such other school approved by the Board and the 
Department. Credit towards qualifying education requirements may be 
obtained through the completion of a degree program in Real Estate from 
an accredited degree-granting college or university, provided that the 
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institution’s curriculum has been reviewed and approved for credit by the 
AQB.  

 
(d) A written, proctored examination is required for all qualifying education 

distance course offerings.  The term “written” shall include an 
examination taken on paper, or administered electronically on a computer 
or other device.  

 
(3)  Qualifying Examination Requirement. 
 

(a) Upon completion and satisfaction of the core education and experience 
requirements set forth in the AQB Real Property Qualification Criteria for 
the desired license or certification, an applicant must take and pass a 
written examination offered and administered by a testing service pre-
approved by the Board and the Department. 

 
(b) To be eligible for the examination, an applicant shall present the following 

to the Board and the Department: 
 

(i)  Evidence that he or she is at least 18 years of age; 
 
(ii)  Evidence of good moral character, as established by references 

from individuals, schools and other records acceptable to the 
Department; 

 
(iii) Official documentation of successful completion of the core 

education requirements as set forth in the AQB Real Property 
Qualification Criteria and described in Section 7(A)(2); 

 
(iv)  The log evidencing the applicant's appraisal experience as set forth 

in the AQB Real Property Qualification Criteria and described in 
Section 7(A)(1); and 
 

(v)  The authorization and waiver form for nationwide criminal history 
background checks, as provided by the Department. 

 
(c) No applicant for licensure as a licensed, certified residential, or certified 

general appraiser shall be permitted to take an examination for licensure or 
certification more than three (3) times without the express consent of the 
Board and the Department.  

 
(d) Applicants must take an examination within one (1) year of the issuance of 

a test authorization card. Test scores will be held for a one (1) year period 
from the date of examination. The Department shall keep applications on 
file for two (2) years from the date of filing.  
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(e) Any successful applicant who fails to remit the license fee within one (1) 
year from the date of examination will be required to re-apply and pass the 
written examination. 

 
(4)  Other General Requirements. 

 
(a) The Board or the Department may require an applicant to demonstrate by 

competent evidence that he or she is qualified to hold a license or 
certificate in accordance with the requirements of R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-
20.7-1, et seq., and these regulations. Such evidence may include letters of 
specific reference or other written statements verifying or supporting the 
application to be licensed or certified by the Department. 

 
(b)  The Board or the Department may require, as a condition of licensure or 

certification, an applicant to authorize the Board and/or the Department 
the right to make such inquiries as it deems necessary or appropriate to 
verify information contained in the application and/or required to be 
provided by law or regulation. The authorization shall include, without 
limitation, permission to request samples of previous work performed, 
evaluations by prior employers of the applicant’s work product, 
explanations as to type of work performed, verification of hours and terms 
of employment, verification of educational experiences and courses taken, 
and information from any source relevant to the application. An applicant 
shall execute all authorization forms as the Board or the Department 
deems necessary or appropriate to obtain such information. 

 
(c) Initial applicants, reciprocal applicants and renewal applicants for all 

classifications of licensure must submit with their application a Criminal 
History Record from the Bureau of Criminal Identification of the Rhode 
Island State Police or the Rhode Island Department of Attorney General 
for a nationwide criminal records check including fingerprint records. The 
Criminal History Records must have complete dispositions or results of 
any charges delineated or resolved in Rhode Island or in any state prior to 
the Department of Business Regulation acting on the application.  

 
(d) Upon initial licensure and at all times thereafter, every licensee shall 

ensure that the Department has on record the licensee’s current personal 
name, firm affiliation, trade name, residence address and firm address. 
Every licensee shall notify the Department in writing of each change of 
personal name, firm affiliation, trade name, residence address and firm 
address within ten days of the change. All addresses shall be sufficiently 
descriptive to enable the Department to correspond with and locate the 
licensee.  

 
 
 

SECTION 9             TRAINEES 
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(A) Initial Requirements for Licensure. 

 
(1) Core Education. An applicant for a trainee license must demonstrate that he or she 

has successfully completed the requisite core courses in accordance with AQB Real 
Property Qualification Criteria in subjects related to real estate appraisal and USPAP 
from a duly-licensed real estate school pursuant to the provisions of R.I. Gen. Laws § 
5-20.5-19, or a nationally recognized appraisal organization, college, university or 
other school pre-approved by the AQB or such other school approved by the Board 
and the Department. 
 
(a)  All qualifying education must be completed within the five (5) year period prior 

to the date of submission of an application for a Trainee Appraiser credential. 
   
(2)   Experience. No appraisal experience shall be required as a prerequisite for a Trainee 

Appraiser credential.  
 

 (B) Responsibilities of a Trainee.  
 
(1)  The holder of a trainee license shall work under "direct supervision," as that term 

is defined in Section 2, of a "supervisory appraiser," who shall be an individual 
who is a certified residential appraiser or a certified general appraiser in good 
standing by the Department and who has acknowledged in writing an agreement 
to perform the responsibilities of a supervisory appraiser set forth in Section 9(D).  
 

(2) Prior to starting any work as a trainee, the holder of a trainee license shall inform 
the Department in writing of the identity of any individuals who have agreed to 
serve as a "supervising appraiser" for the trainee. A Trainee Appraiser is 
permitted to have more than one supervisory appraiser. The holder of a trainee 
license shall inform the Department in writing, within seven days, in the event 
that any individual previously designated as a "supervisory appraiser" ceases to 
agree to perform the responsibilities of a "supervisory appraiser," or in the event 
that any individual not previously designated as a "supervisory appraiser" agrees 
to supervise the work product of the trainee.  

 
(3)  The holder of a Trainee Appraiser license shall not solicit or maintain a direct 

relationship with a client or a party or parties who engage an appraiser by 
employment or contract in a specific assignment. The trainee shall not collect any 
fees from the client, except when acting as an agent of the supervising appraiser. 
The supervising appraiser shall ensure that any form of payment shall be directed 
to the supervisory appraiser. 
 

(4)  The holder of a Trainee Appraiser license shall not advertise. Any advertisement 
in the name of a supervisory appraiser with whom the trainee is associated may 
include the name of the trainee by clearly indicating such person as a trainee. This 
shall not prohibit a trainee's use of standard business cards that clearly indicate 
such person as a trainee. 
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(5)  The holder of a Trainee Appraiser license shall also have the following duties: 

 
(a)  A Trainee Appraiser shall complete a course that, at a minimum, complies 

with the specifications for course content established by the AQB.  The 
course will be oriented toward the requirements and responsibilities of 
Supervisory Appraisers and expectations for Trainee Appraisers.  The 
course must be completed prior to obtaining a Trainee Appraiser 
credential. 

 
(b)  The Trainee Appraiser shall ensure that their experience log is available at 

all times for inspection by the Board or the Department. 
 
(c)  When performing appraisal assignments, the trainee shall make readily 

available upon request a copy of the license certificate issued by the 
Department. 

 
(d) The trainee shall maintain and have in his or her custody a work file for 

each appraisal assignment.  The work file must be in existence prior to and 
contemporaneous with the issuance of a written or oral report. A written 
summary of an oral report must be added to the work file within a 
reasonable time after the issuance of the oral report. Each work file must 
include:  

 
(i) The name of the client and the identity, by name or type, of any 

other intended users;  
 
(ii) True copies of any written reports, documented on any type of 

media;  
 
(iii) Summaries of any oral reports or testimony, or a transcript of 

testimony, including the appraiser’s signed and dated certification; 
and  

 
(iv) All other data, information, and documentation necessary to 

support the appraiser's opinions and conclusions and to show 
compliance with this regulation and all other applicable USPAP 
Standards, or references to the location(s) of such other 
documentation.  

 
(e) When the trainee has obtained a new supervisory appraiser, the trainee and 

supervisory appraiser shall file an affidavit memorializing the relationship.  
 
(f)  The trainee shall comply with the provisions of the Uniform Standards of 

Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP). 
 

(D) Responsibilities of Supervisory Appraiser. 
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(1)  Any individual designated as a "supervisory appraiser" shall acknowledge in 

writing to the Department that he or she agrees to perform all responsibilities set 
forth in Section 9(D)(4). 
 

(2)  Supervisory appraisers shall be in good standing with the Department and shall 
not have received disciplinary action, within the last three years which has 
affected their legal ability to engage in appraisal practice in this, or any other 
state.   

 
(3)  Only those individuals who have been credentialed by the Department for at least 

three (3) years as either a certified general real estate appraiser or a certified 
residential real estate appraiser shall be a supervisory appraiser.  

 
(4)  A supervisory appraiser shall also have the following duties: 

 
(a)  The supervisory appraiser shall at all times be responsible for and provide 

direct supervision of the work performed by the trainee.  
 
(b)  The supervisory appraiser shall provide the trainee with a copy of any 

final appraisal report in which the trainee's work product has been utilized 
or in which the trainee made a professional contribution.  
 

(c) The supervisory appraiser shall notify the Department and his or her 
trainee(s) in writing within ten (10) days if he or she ceases to perform or 
is unable to perform the responsibilities set forth in this section.  

 
(d) A supervisory appraiser shall not supervise more than three (3) Trainee 

Appraisers at one time. 
 

(e)  The supervisory appraiser shall personally inspect, with the trainee, the 
interior and exterior of each appraised property for a minimum of twenty-
five (25) appraisal assignments.  
 

(f) A supervisory appraiser shall complete a course that, at a minimum, 
complies with the specifications for course content established by the 
AQB.  The course will be oriented toward the requirements and 
responsibilities of Supervisory Appraisers and expectations for Trainees 
Appraisers.  The course must be completed by the Supervisory Appraiser 
prior to supervising a Trainee Appraiser.  

 
(g)  The supervisory appraiser shall prepare and furnish a signed statement 

describing the nature and extent of the assistance rendered to each trainee 
who provided services on an appraisal assignment. This statement shall be 
placed in the work file of the appraisal assignment.  
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(h)  Failure to comply with this section may be deemed professional 
misconduct. 

  
(F) Continuing education requirements for Trainee Appraisers.   

 
An individual holding a trainee license for more than two years shall complete, by the 
time each renewal application is submitted to the Department, the continuing education 
requirements as established by "The Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria and 
Interpretation of the Criteria," as promulgated by the AQB of the Appraisal Foundation, 
as amended and supplemented, which are incorporated herein by reference as part of this 
regulation. 
 

SECTION 10           DUTY TO MAINTAIN VERIFICATION OF EXPERIENCE 
 
A person may be asked to verify his or her experience while licensed or certified. All persons 
licensed or certified must maintain file data containing adequate written reports or file 
memoranda to support his or her experience claim. Persons should not submit such data unless 
requested to do so. Each person shall furnish, under oath, a detailed listing of the real estate 
appraisal reports or file memoranda for each year for which experience is claimed by the person 
on forms or in a manner required by the Board and/or the Department.  

 
SECTION 11          CONTINUING EDUCATION 
 
(A)  Continuing Education Requirements. As a prerequisite to license and certification 

renewal by the Department, an applicant must present evidence satisfactory to the 
Department that: 

 
(1)  During the immediately preceding term of licensure and/or certification, the 

applicant shall have completed the requisite classroom hours of instruction in 
courses or seminars in accordance with AQB Real Property Qualification Criteria 
from a duly-licensed real estate school pursuant to the provisions of R.I. Gen. 
Laws § 5-20.5-19, or a nationally recognized appraisal organization, college, 
university or other school approved by the Appraisal Qualifications Board of the 
Appraisal Foundation or such other school as approved by the Board and the 
Department.    Qualifying education courses taken by a licensee to fulfill the class 
hour requirement for a different classification than his/her current classification 
may be simultaneously counted towards the continuing education requirement of 
his/her current classification.  

 
(2)  In lieu of meeting the requirements of Subsection (A)(1) of this Section, an 

applicant for license or certification renewal may satisfy all or part of the renewal 
requirements by presenting evidence of the following:  

 
(a)  Completion of an educational program of study determined by the Board 

and the Department to be the equivalent, for continuing educational 
purposes, to meet the course requirements of Subsection (A)(1); and/or  
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(b)  One half of the total number of credits earned for participation as a 
teacher/consultant in educational processes and programs approved by the 
Board and the Department that relates to appraisal theory, practices, or 
techniques, including but not necessarily limited to, teaching, program 
development and preparation of textbooks, monographs, articles, and other 
instructional material; and/or 

 
(c)  Attendance at a Real Estate Appraisers Board meeting, provided that: (i) 

credit may be awarded for only one Real Estate Appraisers Board meeting 
per continuing education cycle or licensing period; (ii) the meeting must 
be at least two hours in length; (iii) the applicant shall receive one credit 
for each hour attended but cannot receive more than seven credit hours in 
total for the meeting; and (iv) the meeting must be open to the public. 
Credit will not be given for attendance at such a meeting if the licensee’s 
appearance was requested by the Board due to a pending complaint 
against that licensee. 

 
(B)  Course Approval. Any courses offered to satisfy any of the educational criteria set forth 

herein must first be submitted and approved by the Board in writing. The Department 
shall periodically publish a listing of all such courses approved.  

 
SECTION 12          RECIPROCITY 
 
(A)  General Requirements. The Department may, upon application, issue a license or 

certificate to an applicant who has otherwise met the requirements for licensure and/or 
certification in the State of Rhode Island without examination, provided the following 
terms and conditions are met:  

 
(1) The applicant holds a valid credential from a state which is in compliance with 

Title XI by the ASC. 
 
(2)  The credentialing requirements of that state as they exist at the time of application 

for reciprocal license must meet or exceed those which currently exist in the State 
of Rhode Island. 

 
(3)  The applicant has complied with the provisions of R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-20.7-16. 

 
SECTION 13          TEMPORARY PRACTICE PERMITS 
 
(A) Upon satisfaction of the reciprocity criteria set forth in Section 8, the Department, upon 

application, may issue a temporary license or certificate for a period not to exceed one 
hundred eighty (180) days under the following conditions: 

 
(1) The property to be appraised is part of a federally-related or other transaction; 

 
(2)  The applicant must be a certified or licensed appraiser; 
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(3)  The application is received before the appraisal assignment is commenced; and 
 
(4)  The application identifies the specific assignment(s) or appraisal(s) at issue. 
 
 

 
(B)  Permits may be extended until the completion of the assignment upon request to the 

Department, up to a maximum of two extensions per assignment.   If additional time is 
required to complete the assignment or appraisal, a new application must be filed which 
complies with Section 13(A).  Requests for an extension must be received prior to the 
expiration date of the last Temporary Practice Permit granted.   

 
SECTION 14    UNIFORM STANDARDS OF PROFESSIONAL APPRAISAL PRACTICE 
 
All appraisers licensed or certified pursuant to R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-20.7-1, et seq., and these 
regulations shall comply at all times with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 
Practice (“USPAP”). 
 
SECTION 15    INSPECTION OF RECORDS 
 
In order to reasonably effectuate the provisions of R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-20.7-18, et seq., and this 
regulation, every licensed or certified person shall make available for inspection by the Director, 
or a designated representative, all records of transactions, books of account, instruments, 
documents, and forms utilized or maintained by such person in the conduct of the performance of 
appraisal assignments, that may be pertinent to the conduct of an investigation of any specific 
complaint. All records pertaining to appraisals shall be made available upon demand. All other 
records shall be made available upon reasonable notice. 
 
SECTION 16              REPORTING CONVICTIONS AND DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS 
 
Any licensee who is convicted of any felony or misdemeanor, or who is disciplined by any 
governmental agency in connection with any other occupational license, shall file with the 
Department a written report of such conviction or disciplinary action within sixty (60) days of 
the final judgment or final order in the case. Failure to do so shall be considered grounds for 
revocation of appraiser credentials. 
 
SECTION 17             ADMINISTRATIVE HEARINGS 
 
(A) Powers and Proceedings.   Except as otherwise specifically provided herein, enforcement 

proceedings under this regulation shall be conducted in accordance with R.I. Gen. Laws § 
5-20.7-22 and the Department’s Central Management Regulation 2 – Rules of Procedure 
for Administrative Hearings.  

 
(B)  Complaints.   A written complaint alleging an appraiser has violated any provisions of 

R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-20.7-1, et seq., USPAP, or these regulations shall be filed with the 
Department.   Any person, including members of the Board, may file a complaint with 
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the Department. The Board or the Department may, upon its own motion, file a complaint 
against a licensed appraiser or a person or entity conducting unlicensed appraisal activity. 

 
(C)  Investigation of Complaints. 
 

(1)  Upon receipt of a complaint or upon its own motion, the Board shall review and 
investigate alleged acts or omissions, which the Board reasonably believes may 
constitute cause for disciplinary action. In order to determine if probable cause 
exists to conduct a hearing on a complaint, the investigator(s) designated by the 
Chairperson of the Board shall cause an investigation to be made into the 
allegations of the complaint. 

 
(2)  Upon completion of the investigation, the investigators shall prepare and submit 

to the Board and the Department for its consideration a written report containing 
statements of fact and recommendations of the investigator(s). Thereafter, the 
Board may take one of the following actions by a vote: 

 
(a)  Order the matter is further investigated. 
 
(b)  Allow the appraiser who is the subject of the complaint an opportunity to 

appear before the Board for an informal discussion regarding the facts and 
circumstances of the alleged violation. The informal discussion shall 
constitute a part of the Board’s investigation of the pending disciplinary 
case. The Board may consider the facts discussed at the informal 
discussion in the event the matter proceeds to a contested case hearing. 
The Board may seek a consent order as a result of the informal discussion. 

 
(c)  Determine that the investigation does not warrant a finding that there is a 

basis for disciplinary action and that no probable cause exists to believe 
violation has occurred, and close the case and take no further action.  

 
(d)  Determine there is probable cause to believe that a violation has occurred 

and recommend to the Director of the Department that the Department 
proceed with a contested case hearing or other administrative enforcement 
action.  

 
 

SECTION 18           EFFECT OF SUBSEQUENT STATUTORY OR AQB CHANGES  
 

Any changes in the Rhode Island General Laws pertaining to real estate appraiser certification or 
licensure or the "Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria Effective January 1, 2015," 
promulgated by the AQB of the Appraisal Foundation, that affect the content, language or intent 
of this regulation will be deemed adopted by the Department on the date of implementation of 
the statutory or AQB change.  
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SECTION 19          SEVERABILITY 
 
If any section, term, or provision of this regulation is adjudged invalid for any reason, that 
judgment will not affect, impair, or invalidate any remaining section, term, or provision, which 
shall remain in full force and effect. 
 
 
 
SECTION  20           EFFECTIVE DATE 
 
This Regulation and the amendments thereto shall be effective as indicated below.   
 
EFFECTIVE: December 12, 1996 
REFILED: January 19, 2001 
AMENDED:   March 18, 2004  
AMENDED: January 31, 2008 
AMENDED: October 28, 2008 
AMENDED: June 20, 2011 
AMENDED:   August 22, 2013 
AMENDED:   April 14, 2014 
AMENDED: 
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