

State of Rhode Island DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS REGULATION 1511 Pontiac Avenue, Bldg. 69-2 Cranston, Rhode Island 02920

www.dbr.ri.gov
Tel: 401-462-9520, prompt #2
dbr.inslic@dbr.ri.gov

Insurance Division

INSURANCE PRODUCER LICENSING INSTRUCTIONS

Rhode Island Resident Individual Checklist

- o There is no statutory pre-licensing requirement.
- o Schedule a licensing exam with PearsonVue: 1-800-274-3739 <u>www.pearsonvue.com</u>.
- o 3-5 days after you pass your licensing exam, complete application at NIPR: www.nipr.com [\$120.00 license fee payable with a credit card at NIPR]
- Obtain your BCI background report from the RI Attorney General's office: https://riag.ri.gov/i-want/get-background-check (the report is valid for 30 days).
- o Send your BCI to dbr.inslic@dbr.ri.gov along with your NIPR transaction number.

Non-Resident Individual Checklist

Complete online application at <u>www.nipr.com</u>
 [\$130.00 license fee payable with a credit card at NIPR]

Pursuant to <u>RI Gen Laws §27-2.4-12</u> all individuals who are conducting Rhode Island business on behalf of a business entity must include that business entity name as an "assumed name" on their individual Rhode Island license.

Pursuant to <u>RI Gen Laws §27-2.4-23</u> errors and omissions insurance is required for all resident producers.

OTHER IMPORTANT INFORMATION

Amend License

o Add a line of authority (\$50 fee) or change your contact information at NIPR: www.nipr.com

Continuing Education Requirement

Rhode Island residents must complete twenty-four (24) accumulated credit hours including a minimum of three (3) hours in ethics for each biennial license period. Non-residents must company with continuing education requirements in their resident state.